24/7 Support
877-264-5021
Download ResMe.Com’s Free Apps    

Attractions

Oakland' s Attractions

 

 Attractions

Chabot Space & Science Center

10000 Skyline Blvd., Oakland, CA; Tel. 510. 336.7300

Oakland's gateway to the wonders of the universe is an 86,000-square-foot sci-fi playland operating one of the largest public telescopes in the United States, a space flight simulator, the Megadome theatre, and a 250-seat Plantarium. The closest thing to NASA in Oakland, Chabot hosts expert astronomers and hands-on space and science exhibits year round.
 
 

Children's Fairyland

699 Bellevue Ave., Oakland, CA; Tel. 510.452.2259

Folklore and fable come to life at downtown Oakland's magical 10 acre park, where children can create, imagine, play, and learn. With colorful exhibits, fanciful rides, and hands-on crafts, Oakland's Fairyland is the place where families with young children can relax and enjoy their stay.
 
 

Jack London Square

Broadway and Embarcadero, Oakland, CA; Tel. 510.814.6000

Oakland's revamped waterfront arts and entertainment district has dining, shopping, historic pubs, live music, and serene perches for seagull-watching. Catch local and national blues and jazz acts, a ferry ride under the Bay Bridge, a movie, or just take a walk along the perpetually sunny Boardwalk.
 

Chinatown

Between Broadway, Alice, 13th, and 7th Sts., Oakland, CA

Enjoy Oakland's thriving Asian cultural enclave. The 15 square blocks hustle and bustle with shops, street markets, and a wide panorama of casual and fine Asian cuisine. Be sure to check out the Pacific Renaissance Plaza and stop by the nearby Oakland Asian Cultural Center. Every September, Chinatown's Chamber of Commerce puts on a block party and hosts the largest Asian festival in the Bay Area.
 

Joaquin Miller Park/Woodminster Amphitheater

Joaquin Miller Rd, Oakland, CA; Amphitheater Tel. 510.531.9597

Thriving in the Oakland Hills, Joaquin Miller Park is home to one of the only Urban Second Growth redwood groves in existence. Named for the poet and environmentalist who made his home and planted thousands of trees in Oakland's hills, the 500-acre forest boasts miles of trails, sweeping vistas of the entire bay, and equestrian areas. As forest and city rub shoulders, see first-rate musicals every summer at the park's Woodminster Amphitheatre.
 

The Oakland Columbarium

4499 Piedmont Ave., Oakland CA; Tel. 510.654.0123
 
Host to a challenging series of simultaneous 20th-century music performances every year, the labyrinthine, echoing halls of the Oakland Columbarium house thousands of little glassed-in shelves from floor to cavernous ceiling. Each shelf holds a little bronze urn or book-shaped canister, and each of these in turn holds the ashen remains of family members gone to that great human-heaven in the sky. The Columbarium, with its many mosaic tiled fountains, rounds of gardened greenery and sandy stonework arches, is arguably one of the most serene and lovely places in the Bay Area to wander alone. It's not bad for a daytime date, either--that is, if you're both fans of Harold and Maude. (TB)

 

Fox Oakland Theater

Telegraph Avenue

The Fox Oakland Theater, on Telegraph Avenue between 18th and 19th Streets, operated as a first-run movie house from 1928 until 1962. During the next decade, under different owners and managers, it operated as both a first- and second-run movie house, closed briefly several times, and hosted various special events. The City bought it in 1996 and finished installing new roofs in 2000 as its first step in developing public and private efforts to restore and reuse the theater and its two 3-story commercial wings.

http://www.foxoakland.org

 

Heinold's First & Last Chance Saloon

48 Webster Street in Jack London Square Tel:-(510) 839-6761

Built in 1880 and once frequented by Oakland resident Jack London, this saloon is a popular hangout for Jack London Square denizens and visitors alike. It was designated a national literary landmark in 1998.

http://www.heinoldsfirstandlastchance.com

 

Corsicana' s Attractions

Attractions

Cook Center Planetarium

 3100 W. Collin Street | Corsicana, TX 75110 | (903) 874-1211 or 1-800-988-5317

The Cook Center Planetarium at Navarro College is a large theater with a 60 foot diameter dome screen and seating for 200 people that specializes in showing informative astronomy/space science themed programs and large format (870) film presentations.

The planetarium offers a schedule of presentations for the general public every week (normally on Saturdays). Please note that the planetarium theater is used exclusively for Navarro College courses and group scheduling Monday through Friday during the school year.

The general public is always welcome to sit in on a group presentation if seating is available. Our schedule is subject to change in response to the needs of Navarro College, large groups, and private events. Please call the Cook Center at 1-800-988-5317 or (903)874-1211 to verify the current planetarium schedule.

The planetarium is primarily used as a educational field trip venue for area schools and other interested groups. Groups arranging for private shows may choose from our library of astronomical presentations. For a complete description of each program, please visit our Planetarium Show Library . Teachers can find information regarding program alignment to the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) on our Teacher's page .

General Admissions

$2.00 per person per planetarium show or film

Group Admissions

Planetarium show or film = $2.00 per person

Planetarium show or film + "Stars over Texas" live show = $3.00 per person

Planetarium show + Planetarium film = $4.00 per person

Planetarium show + Planetarium film + "Stars over Texas" live show = $5.00 per person

 

Normal Hours of Operation

 

Monday - Friday 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Saturday 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM

 

 

Pearce Western Art Museum

Pearce Western Art Museum 3100 West Collin St. Corsicana , TX , 75110 , US P: (903) 875-7642

Corsicana's motto is where “Country Meets Culture” and, simply stated, that means people will find everything here from armadillos to antiques, from rodeo to rare civil war documents, and from fruitcakes to fine western art.

“We are delighted to host the 7th annual Western Artists of America (WAA) Show & Sale here at the Pearce Museum, on the campus of Navarro College ( http://www.NavarroCollege.edu ). It is a wonderful opportunity, not only for the museum, but also for the community,” said Holly Beasley, curator of the Pearce Museum. “While the museum is just south of Dallas/Fort Worth, an event of this caliber will surely put Corsicana on the cultural map and bring a higher level of prestige to the Pearce Museum.”

Prominent artists to look for at this year's WAA show include Ed Copley, ( http://edcopleyfineart.com/ ) known as the modern day old master. His great, great, great grandfather was John Singleton Copley who is recognized as America's greatest and most influential painter in colonial America. Copley will also be showcasing one of his portraits painted on copper, a technique that was done by the old masters of the renaissance period.

There will be a special exhibition and sale of five (5) originals from the late master artist Kenneth M. Freeman (kenne, known as the Rembrandt of the Rodeo. In 2010, Freeman's work has been seen around the country in two traveling museum exhibitions at The Booth Museum, The Phippen Art Museum and at The Desert Caballeros Western Museum. Freeman has been honored with The Cowboy Spirit Award as well as the WAA Lifetime Achievement Award, among others. He was the illustrator for authors including Louis L'Amour. His work is in the permanent collections of the Smithsonian Museum, The Library of Congress and The Booth Museum.

Karen Cooper ( https://artbc.com/Home_Page.html ), an award-winning artist from Santa Fe, NM, has been chosen as the Poster Artist for the 2011 Cheyenne Frontier Days Rodeo. Sharon Brening ( http://www.sbrening.com ) from Peoria, AZ has one of her paintings (Wrestling with Innocence) in the permanent collection of the Pearce Museum and had a two month exhibition called Traditions Are Alive at the Pearce Museum in May/June 2010.

And finally, stop by and meet Ed Holmes ( http://www.mountaintrailsgalleries.com/artists/holmes.php ) who is not just a great artist but is also the founder and president of Western Artists of America. Holmes' work has been featured in such notable publications as: Southwest Art, Cowboys & Indians and Art Life. Ed's western paintings can be found in major private and corporate collections throughout the US, Canada, and Europe.

About the Western Artists of American Annual Show & Sale
The WAA Show & Sale has two days of events that include a Friday (Jan. 28) lecture with master painter Jay Hester on oil painting and also a lecture with master sculptor Keith McMasters on bronze sculpture. Friday night is the exciting Art Auction from 6 – 8 PM. On Saturday (Jan. 29) the WAA offers a great autograph party to meet the artists followed by an Artists' Quick Draw Competition where WAA artists mentor college art students with all proceeds going to the Pearce Museum. The WAA event wraps up on Saturday night with the gala Western Artists of America Awards Dinner hosted by Bob Boze Bell of True West Magazine.

“Several members of WAA have artwork within the Pearce Museum permanent collection. This event will give us the chance to meet other western artists through which we can expand our collection,” added Beasley.

About Western Artists of America
Western Artists of America is an organization formed in 2000 for the purpose of promoting the talents of professional fine artists specializing in the genre of cowboy, Native American, pioneer, cattle and horse subjects with backgrounds appropriate to the subject matter. Formed to showcase the talents of the many qualified fine western artists of today irrespective of gender, the more seasoned members seek out up and coming talent who exhibit a high interest in the western genre for mentoring. These artists' works are showcased in an annual event sponsored by a national art museum. The Pearce Museum on the Navarro College campus in Corsicana, Texas will host the 2011 show and sale for the WAA.
Website: http://www.WesternArtistsOfAmerica.com

About The Pearce Museum at Navarro College
Our mission is to preserve, collect, and interpret the history of the American Civil War and the art of the American West.

The Pearce Museum at Navarro College is divided into two distinct exhibit areas. The Civil War Gallery is an interactive experience designed to give the visitor a humanistic overview of the Civil War, including issues, causes, battles, leaders, plight of the common soldier, the home front, and the aftermath. There are currently more than 15,000 items in the Civil War collection, while less than five percent are on display at any one time. The Western Art Gallery features two- and three-dimensional works of art depicting many aspects of the historical and contemporary Western experience including cowboys, Indians, settlers, and pioneers. There are 228 works in the Western Art collection with not quite fifty percent of those pieces on exhibit at any one time. The Pearce Museum - Navarro College - 3100 W. Collin Street - Corsicana, TX 75110 - 903-875-7642 Website: http://www.pearcecollections.us

 

Warehouse Living Arts Center

The Warehouse Living Arts Center , one of our community's greatest assets, has been at the very heart of entertainment, arts education and culture for over 35 years. The Warehouse Living Arts Center was founded as a 501(c)3 charitable organization with its primary purpose, to provide a vehicle for the education in, production and development of the performing arts, including but not limited to drama, musical and related cultural productions and to encourage community participation in all aspects of the creative arts.

Since then, The Warehouse Living Arts Center has developed a vibrant children's theatre company and education programs for both youth and adults. The Warehouse Living Arts Center is also the year round home of all Navarro Council of Arts art displays and exhibits which are free to the public.

The theatre has presented over 300 stage productions which have entertained, enlightened and educated people of all ages and backgrounds in Corsicana and Navarro County. The Warehouse Living Arts Center also stimulates the local economy by attracting visitors from surrounding Ellis, Limestone, Hill, Freestone and Henderson counties as well as attracting new industry to the area. Through the productions, gallery exhibits and education programs offered year round, The Warehouse Living Arts Center contributes immeasurably to the vitality and quality of life in our community.

Denton' s Attractions

Attractions

 

Little Chapel in the Woods

Built in 1939, the Little Chapel has been named one of Texas’ 20 most outstanding architectural achievements; it was designed by the late O’Neil Ford. TWU art students designed the stained glass windows which depict the theme "Woman Ministering to Human Needs"The students and faculty of Texas Woman's University actively participated in both raising the funds for and designing all the artwork in the Chapel. Throughout 1938 and 1939, more than 300 TWU students and faculty members built components of the Chapel. The Chapel seats 110 persons, including seating in the balcony

Courthouse on the Square Museum

110 W. Hickory Street, Denton, TX 76201   

Opened in 1979, the Courthouse Museum is located on the 1st floor of the historic Courthouse-on-the-Square. The museum houses a variety of exhibits depicting Denton County history. Special collections range from primitive to modern Indian pottery, weaponry and early American artifacts. Courthouse on the Square image by Patricia Tieszen. The Denton County Courthouse-on the Square Museum is a unique repository of exhibits, special collections, and historical documents that provide visitors with an overview of the communities and residents which have contributed to the county's rich heritage

 

Bayless-Selby House in the Historical Park

317 W. Mulberry Street, Denton, TX 76201

In February, 1998, the City of Denton announced an auction for the house that is now the Bayless-Selby House Museum.Mildred Hawk of Denton, a member of the Denton County Historical Commission, was the successful bidder. In April, 1998, Mrs. Hawk gave the house to the Historical Commission for restoration as a museum. In June, 1998, the house was moved to its present location on site in the newly-created Historical Park of Denton County, just a glimpse away from the historic Downtown Denton. Restoration took just over three years, and the house was opened as the Bayless-Selby House Museum September 29, 2001. On September 24, 2005, Denton County Historical Commission dedicated and unveiled the first of Denton County's Historic Landmarks.

 

African American Museum in the Historic Quakertown House

317 W. Mulberry Street, Denton, TX76201

Denton County African American Museum was first purchased by C. Ross Hembry in Quakertown 1919. It was relocated in 1922 to the east side of Denton off McKinney Street, where it remained until the 1970s. The house was purchased by the Denton County Historical Society in 2004, and was dedicated as a museum in 2008

 

 

 

 

Chico' s Attractions

Attractions

 

Bidwell Mansion State Historic Park

525 The Esplanade / (530) 895-6144

The Bidwell Mansion, a three-story Italianate villa, was completed in 1868 and was the home of Chico founders, John and Annie Bidwell. Many famous historical figures, including John Muir, Ralph Waldo Emerson, and William T. Sherman, were guests at this restored mansion located adjacent to Chico State University in downtown Chico. Guided tours are available daily.

Location - Directions

From Highway 99:  Take East First Avenue exit and head west.  Turn Left on Esplanade.  The park is located on the right hand side of the road at Memorial Way and Esplanade.

From Highway 5:  Take Highway 32 exit at Orland east 20 miles to West Sacramento Avenue.  Turn left (east) onto West Sacramento Avenue to The Esplanade where you turn right (south).

 

Chico Art Center

450 Orange Street  Chico, California 95928

ph:- (530)895-8726 http://www.chicoartcenter.com/

Located in the renovated old Chico railroad depot, the Chico Art Center has ongoing visual art displays featuring California artists. The center also offers classes, lectures, and workshops.Since its inception in 1956 as a non-profit community-based organization, the Chico Art Center's mission has been to foster and promote the visual arts. The Center has had a long history of offering fine art instruction, professional gallery shows, and events that connect the public with artists. The intent now, as always, is to help the community appreciate the importance of visual art in our society.

 Our History

 The Northern California Creative Arts Center (now known as the Chico Arts Center) was established on Salem Street near Fourth Street in Chico on November 1, 1955. The Center was created as a private enterprise free of political or religious affilitation, inspired and created to further the exchange, appreciation and production of creative arts and crafts. Within three months the NCCAC's dedicated Board of Directors voted to incorporate as a non-profit group conducting cultural and recreational activities and to promote interest in the execution and appreciation of the various arts. The Center belongs to the people of Chico.

 In 1956 the Chico Area Recreation District's (CARD) Eastwood Recreation Center housed the Art Center. In 1957 it moved in with an option to buy at 1324 Dayton Road. The members purchased the building for $5,000 in 1958 and stayed there until 1969. The address at 814 Glenn Street had an Eighth Street address in 1969 as the Center faced Bidwell Park. Later it was nestled among homes and and apartment buildings, near the Chico Nature Center.

 

Chico Creek Theatre Company
166 Eaton Road Chico, CA 95973

ph:- (530) 894-3282 (530) 894-3294 (fax)

http://www.chicotheatercompany.com/

Chico Theater Company (CTC) produces family oriented shows with a heavy emphasis on musical theater. Their goal is to get people to stay in this area and enjoy the wonderful local theater that the Chico area offers. They also want to foster and grow an interest in the performing arts through their youth theater program, Chico Children's Theater Company (CCTC).

 

Chico Museum
141 Salem Street ,Chico, CA 95928

ph:- (530) 891-4366 http://www.chicomuseum.org/

Housed in the historic Andrew Carnegie library and immediately adjacent to the California State University, Chico campus, the Chico Museum has provided the greater Chico community with memorable exhibits for over 27 years. Since its opening, the museum has served as a classroom for thousands of area children as well as a reflective resource for adults seeking knowledge of all things Chico.

The museum’s Carnegie and Patrick Galleries have hosted more than 100 exhibits celebrating the distinct heritage of Chico and its sphere of influence. Exhibits change throughout the year and offer a wide variety of topics ranging from the history of Chico to regional agriculture. Two permanent displays, a topographic map of Northern California and a timeline covering the period 1830 through 2000 are available for viewing in the McIntyre Gallery.

 

Farmer’s Market (held every Saturday, year round, rain or shine) 

ph:-(530)893-3276

 The Farmer's Market, a long-time Chico tradition, features fresh fruit, produce, flowers and more. Held at the Municipal parking lot on East 2nd Street and Wall Street from 7:30 am -1 pm . Come rain or shine all year long.

Los Banos' s Attractions

Attractions

Miliken Museum
Renamed from Los Banos Historical Museum in honor of the long time curator.
The Museum may reached by calling (209) 826-4079  The museum is located on Highway 152 in Los Banos, close to our hotel, and is open from Tuesday to Saturday, from 1 PM to 4 PM.

Mercey Hot Springs

Mercey Hot Springs offers a natural, recreational area and retreat to get away from today's modern world. Surrounded by beautiful mountains and valleys, you can relax and soak in the hot-mineral water of their hot springs while taking in the landscape. The vision of the current owners is to have Mercey Hot Springs be a resort that is clean, comfortable and yet affordably priced while retaining the style of the buildings and decor in an early 1900's look and feel. Available activities are disc golf, mountain biking, star gazing, bird watching, and rock hunting. Mercey Hot Springs is located in the northwest corner of Fresno County, 35 miles south from Vagabond Inn Los Banos. Hours - Winter: 9:00 am to 9:00 pm daily Summer: 8:00 am to 10:00 pm daily. Call (209) 826-3388 for more information.

San Luis National Wildlife Refuge

With over 26,600 acres of wetlands, riparian forests, native grasslands, and vernal pools, the San Luis National Wildlife Refugee is a great place to spend with the family while learning about elks, birds, reptiles, insects, plants, amphibians, and more. The Refuge has three auto tour routes to view the majestic nature of animals in their natural habitat. Fishing is allowed in designated sites and the Refuge also has a waterfowl hunting program. For more information, call (209) 826-3508.

 

Killeen' s Attractions

Attractions

Mayborn  Space Theater

The Mayborn Science Theater is located on the campus of Central Texas College in Killeen. The facility opened in August 2003. Since then, thousands of visitors have enjoyed programs including planetarium star shows and laser light shows.

Visit the Mayborn Science Theater on the campus of Central Texas College in Killeen Texas and immerse yourself in a state-of-the-art experience like no other.

Embark on an imaginary journey through time and space. Our new million dollar, full-scale digital upgrade has created a full-dome display and allows for more entertainment opportunities. The upgrade, performed by Global Immersion of the United Kingdom, includes a five-channel Fidelity Bright full-dome solution employing a wide range of exciting technologies to allow the facility to support its extensive and diverse show programming in the 60-foot dome.

Experience a unique and artistic mix of light, color and sound. Laser light shows combine eye-popping 3D graphics, pure laser-generated colors and 15,000-watts of digitally reproduced sound to bring your favorite music to life. Treat yourself to the most impressive motion picture available presented on a dome-shaped screen, more than twice as large as traditional movie screens.

 

Belton Lake Outdoor Recreation Area

Belton Lake Outdoor Recreation Area (hoodmwr.com) features a swimming beach, waterslide, floating paddleboat dock and picnic areas. It is open to Department of Defense patrons and civilians. Equipment such as boats, kayaks, wake boards, water skis and inner tubes can be rented at the park.

Stillhouse Hollow Lake

Several recreational parks surround nearby Stillhouse Hollow Lake (swf-wc.usace.army.mil/stillhouse/), a 20-minute drive, 11 miles southeast of Killeen. Camping is allowed at Union Grove Park and Dana Peak Park -- both of which offer tent campsites and RV hookups. Boat ramps are in Stillhouse Park, Dana Peak Park, River's Bend Park, Cedar Gap Park and Union Grove. Chalk Ridge Falls Hiking Trail is below the lake's dam and is approximately five-miles long with a suspension bridge and several waterfalls. Dana Peak Park also has a trail that can be used for biking, horseback riding or hiking.

Bell County Expo Center

Bell County Expo Center (bellcountyexpo.com) hosts 200 events throughout the year including music, motocross, rodeos, dog shows and private events. The Expo Center is at the intersection of U.S. Highway 190 and Interstate 35. It has a main arena and several smaller rooms for private functions.

Texas Thunder Speedway

Seven classes of race cars thunder along the quarter mile dirt track at Texas Thunder Speedway (texasthunder.com). The speedway is just outside of downtown Killeen, on West Stan Schlueter Loop, near the Fort Hood Army Base. The speedway holds a variety of races including demolition derbies, street races, standard races and holiday-themed races. Races are held on Saturday nights from March through September. Season passes are available.

 

 

 

West Sacramento' s Attractions

Attractions

 

Crocker Art Museum

216 O St, Sacramento, CA 95829

916 808 7000

The Crocker Art Museum was one of the first art museums in the U.S. and is now one of the leading art institutions in California. Established in 1885

The Museum's exhibitions include works from the permanent collection as well as a diverse schedule of approximately 20 changing exhibitions per year. The Crocker's permanent collection includes more than 14,000 works of art, boasting one of the state's premier collections of California art, a world-renowned collection of Master Drawings , and rapidly growing Asian art and International Ceramics collections. You can view works from our collection on Digital Crocker .

The Crocker hosts changing exhibitions that represent a diverse range of media, time periods and cultures. Find a listing of current and upcoming changing exhibitions.

California State Railroad Museum

111 I Street, Sacramento, CA 95814

916 445 6645

http://www.csrmf.org/

 Located in Old Sacramento, the California State Railroad Museum is a complex of historic facilities and unique attractions. Widely regarded as North America's most popular railroad museum, there is something here for everyone! Throughout the year, experience lavishly restored trains, engaging exhibits, and unique special events.

Sacramento' s Attractions

Attractions

 

California State Railroad Museum

 111 I Street, Sacramento, CA 95814

 916 445 6645 http://www.csrmf.org/

Located in Old Sacramento, the California State Railroad Museum is a complex of historic facilities and unique attractions. Widely regarded as North America's most popular railroad museum, there is something here for everyone! Throughout the year, experience lavishly restored trains, engaging exhibits, and unique special events.

 

River Otter Taxi Company
From Old Sacramento to marinas, restaurants and shops along the Sacramento River, River Otter Taxi Company—the sturdy 24-seat boat makes the placid round trip in about an hour and a quarter. Some of the notable destinations along the way include Chevy's, Crawdads and Woody's. Sacramento River Cats (minor league baseball) fans travel on the river taxi from convenient parking in downtown Sacramento to Raley Field on the West Bank of the Sacramento River.

 

Sacramento Zoo

3930 West Land Park Drive, Sacramento, CA 95822

(916)808-5166

Within our 14.5 acres there are over 600 animals comprised of over 140 different species at the Zoo. We specialize in rare and endangered animals from Reptiles to Mammals, Birds to Amphibians and more. You can find: photos, animal facts sheets and details about all your favorite creatures at the Zoo.

 

Capitol Park

Sacramento, CA

Capitol Park has a notable collection of specimen trees, some of them planted in the 1880s. If you are a fan of trees or like seeing unusual plants, then Capitol Park is a must see in Sacramento. There is a good collection of old conifers (such as bunya-bunya, chinese fir, and umbrella pine), as well as many oaks, including large examples of water oak, pin oak, and red oak. The park is also a great shady refuge on those hot Sacramento afternoons.

 

California State Library

Sacramento, CA

Founded in 1850 to provide research materials for government officials, this library is today available for public use and houses a collection of unique documents on the state's history

 

 

 

 

 

Mount Pleasant' s Attractions

Attractions

Lake Bob Sandlin State Park

341 State Park Road 2117
Pittsburg, TX 75686

ph(903) 572-5531

History

           Lake Bob Sandlin State Park is a 639.8-acre park located on the heavily wooded shoreline on the north side of the 9,400-acre Lake Bob Sandlin, southeast of Mount Pleasant in Titus County. It was acquired in 1979 and was opened in 1987.

There is evidence of prehistoric Caddoan people, who occupied East Texas from 200 B.C. to 1700 A.D. The French and Spanish periodically occupied the area, establishing relations with the Caddo. Choctaw, Cherokee and Kickapoo moved into East Texas in the late 18th to early 19th century. By 1841, Fort Sherman, a wooden stockade whose site is believed to be in or near the park, was established. The Fort Sherman cemetery is located in the park. Since 1860, the land has been used for farming and ranching

Activities include picnicking, hiking, swimming, mountain biking, in-line skating and fishing for largemouth bass, catfish and crappie. Eagles can be spotted during winter months. A variety of birds and wildlife can be viewed year-round.

In addition to campsites for tents and RV's, the park also has screened shelters with and without air-conditioning, and a Group Pavillion.

 

City Parks:
Caldwell Park - Van Buren & W. 2nd Street
Dellwood Park - 726 E. Ferguson Road
Edwards Park - 1304 N. Edwards
Fair Park - 1802 N. Jefferson
Heritage Park 1713 N. Edwards
R.L. Jurney Park - 1216 E. 8th Street
Keith Park - Gibson Avenue & W. 5th Street
Oaklawn Park - 1103 Searcy Avenue
Town Lake - 2508 N. Jefferson

 

Tankersley Gardens

518 Tankersley Rd. Mt. Pleasant, Tx 75455 Tel: (903) 572-0567

http://www.tankersleygardens.com
mail:-tankersleygardens@gmail.com

 Tankersley Gardens is a picturesque 7.625 acre garden facility located in the beautiful piney woods of East Texas, just outside Mt. Pleasant. Tankersley Gardens opened to the public in 1990, and since has grown into one of the most popular wedding and reception facilities in the area. We offer an array of wedding packages from simple facility rental to all-inclusive packages with virtually all the services needed for a wedding and reception.

 

Ramblin Fever RV Park.

3342 US Hwy 271 North
Mt. Pleasant, TX 75455
903-572-1150
mail:-ramblinfever06@yahoo.com

http://ramblinfeverrvpark.com/

Nestled in northeast Texas lake country just two miles from all necessities in a country setting you will find Ramblin Fever RV Park. Easily accessed from I-30 exit 160 on hwy 271 north. Big rig friendly with 30 pull thru paved and 18 non paved sites with 30/50 amp full hook up service. Thirty sites are available with cable TV and all sites available with free wi-fi, guest laundry, and extra free parking. Pet friendly,

Houston' s Attractions

Attractions

 

The Houston Museum of Natural Science

One Hermann Circle Drive, Houston, TX 77030 (Medical Center)
713-639-4629
 
This outstanding science museum has a spectacular collection of mineral specimens, a dinosaur skeleton, space-station models, a planetarium, IMAX theater and a six-story butterfly center in which these beautiful creatures land delicately on outstretched arms.
 

Museum of Fine Arts, Houston

1001 Bissonnet Street, Houston, TX 77005 (The Museum District)
+1 713-639-7300
 
The first municipal art museum in Texas is most well-known for its Impressionist and Post-Impressionist art, and also includes Baroque and Renaissance art, African tribal art, a sculpture garden and a teaching wing, where the works of students and top Texas artists are displayed
 

Children's Museum of Houston

1500 Binz Street, Houston, TX 77004 (The Museum District)
 
Hands-on interactive exhibits in the areas of science and technology, history and culture, health and human development, and the arts.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
 
America’s No. 1 Children’s Museum” by Parents magazine, winner of Nickelodeon Parents’ Picks “Best Museum in Houston 2009 & 2010,” Click2Houston’s Best “Best Museum 2010,” the Children’s Museum of Houston is a Citysearch.com’s nationwide 5-star children’s museum. Housed in a whimsical building designed by internationally acclaimed architect Robert Venturi, the Children’s Museum of Houston offers a multitude of exhibits bursting with action-packed fun that engage kids in the ultimate learning experience. The Museum was founded in 1980 by a group of Houston parents who hoped to elevate early childhood development to a community-wide priority.
 
Since then, the Museum has grown to serve more than 850,000 people annually, focusing on bilingual (Spanish/English) learning programs for kids, ages birth to 12 years, and workshops in literacy, science, math, health, engineering, civic engagement, culture and social studies. The Museum operates as a 501(c)(3) under the direction of a Board of Directors.

In 2005, the Museum launched its Take Another Giant Step Capital Campaign to fund the doubling of the Museum’s exhibition space, the expansion of the Museum’s outreach programs and the formal launch of the Museum’s Institute for Family Learning. On March 14, 2009, the Museum opened its doors to a new building addition featuring more than 39,000 square feet of new exhibition space, including seven new, permanent exhibits: Cyberchase – The Chase Is On!, based on the award-winning PBS KIDS GO! animated series; FlowWorksInvention Convention; Kidtropolis, USAMatter Factory; PowerPlay and a new TotSpot.
 
 

Holocaust Museum Houston

5401 Caroline Street, Houston, TX 77004-6804 (The Museum District)
713 942 8000
 
Our Mission 
 
Holocaust Museum Houston is dedicated to educating people about the Holocaust, remembering the 6 million Jews and other innocent victims and honoring the survivors' legacy. Using the lessons of the Holocaust and other genocides, we teach the dangers of hatred, prejudice and apathy.
 
History of Holocaust Museum Houston
 

In 1981, Siegi Izakson, a Holocaust survivor and long-time Houston resident, had an epiphany. After attending an international gathering of Holocaust survivors in Israel, Izakson realized his peers were getting older, and as they passed away their stories and memories of unchecked prejudice would go with them. He returned to Houston, convinced that the city needed a Holocaust education center and memorial that would preserve for future generations the memory of those who had perished and the stories of those who had survived.

Shortly after his return from Israel, Izakson organized the Houston Council of Jewish Holocaust Survivors to help him implement his vision. He organized a speakers bureau of local Holocaust survivors to go out into the community and address students in their classrooms. Although the Houston Jewish Federation leadership did not initially commit to his dream, Izakson would keep working hard to further the concept.

Then, in 1990, Sandra Weiner, the president of Houston’s Jewish Federation, embraced Izakson’s idea. She used her considerable influence to invigorate the project and established the Holocaust Education Center and Memorial Museum with Martin Fein, the son of survivors, as its founding board chair and Lidya Osadchey as the center’s first director.

Just a few months later, the center was operating in an official capacity out of the offices of the Jewish Federation of Greater Houston. With many questions now being raised about how to best implement the ideals of Izakson’s vision, and make it applicable to modern audiences, the center leadership and members of the survivor community adopted this mission statement:

“To promote awareness of the dangers of prejudice, hatred and violence against the backdrop of the Holocaust, which claimed the lives of millions of Jews and other innocent victims. By fostering Holocaust remembrance, understanding and education, the Museum will educate students as well as the general population about the uniqueness of the event and its ongoing lesson: that humankind must learn to live together in peace and harmony.”

The center’s leadership was determined to build the new museum in the center of the Museum District, and a site and building were purchased on Caroline Street. In September 1992, the center leaders organized the “Circle of Tolerance,” a broad-based, blue-ribbon fundraising committee, with Ben Love, Stanford Alexander and Harry Reasoner as its chairs. A year later, in October 1993, the center broke ground for its new Museum.

Just before the grand opening of the new multi-million-dollar facility, the Holocaust Education Center was re-named Holocaust Museum Houston. And on March 3, 1996, just 13 years after Izakson first dreamed of the idea, Holocaust Museum Houston was officially opened for admission with Izakson proclaiming, “This means the Holocaust story will not go away.”

 

Hermann Park

6201-A Hermann Park Drive, Houston, TX 77030
713-524-5876
 
The first public park in Houston provides a wooded site with picnic areas, running trails, lots of on-leash dog walking areas, the Houston Zoological Gardens, a public golf course and an outdoor theater featuring plays and live music
 

Houston Zoo

6200 Hermann Park Drive, Houston, TX 77030
 713-533-6500
 
The Houston Zoo provides a fun, unique, and inspirational experience fostering appreciation, knowledge, and care for the natural world. Essentially a small city encompassing a world of ecosystems and experiences, the Houston Zoo is made up of many moving parts. We have over 6000 permanent residents (our animals) for whom we provide housing, meals, medical care and, yes, even education! In addition, we have over 1.84 million guests each year who come to experience our incredible variety of animals and ecosystems, as well as attend special private and public events and entertainment. Our dedicated staff works around the clock to ensure that the Zoo is always running smoothly for the safety and well being of our residents and guests
 
 

Dallas' s Attractions

Attractions

Dallas Arboretum & Botanical Gardens

8525 Garland Road, Dallas, TX 75218 (East Dallas)

+1 214-515-6500
Activities: Walking
A nationally acclaimed 66 acre display garden features breathtaking floral displays all year long. Nestled on the shores of White Rock Lake, the Dallas Arboretum was rated in 2013 as one of the Top Ten Botanical Gardens in the US by The Travel Channel. The one-of-a-kind 8 acre Rory Meyers Children's Adventure Garden is the only one of it's kind in America.
 
 

Dallas: Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center

2301 Flora Street, Dallas, TX 75201 (Downtown Dallas)

214-670-3600

The Meyerson” is home to the world - class Dallas Symphony Orchestra and other Dallas-based cultural organizations like the Turtle Creek Chorale, the Dallas Wind Symphony, and the Greater Dallas Youth Orchestra. It also plays host to benefit concerts, corporate meetings, religious services, band and choral festivals and many other multi-disciplinary uses.

 

Rock Hill' s Attractions

Attractions

 

Castro Valley' s Attractions

Attractions

Golden Tee Golfland

 

2533 Castro Valley Blvd, Castro Valley, CA 94546

(510) 537-2168

 

 

Channelview' s Attractions

Attractions

 

Houston Zoo

1513 North MacGregor
Houston TX, 77030

Set in a 55-acre lush tropical landscape, the Houston Zoo is home to more than 4,500 exotic animals representing more than 900 species. The Houston Zoo was named one of the top 10 zoos in the U.S. by Parents magazine in 2009.

AFRICAN FOREST
Journey into the heart of western Africa and see the majestic beauty of chimpanzees, giraffes, rhinos and more. Opened in early December, the Houston Zoo's new African Forest exhibit recreates the wilderness habitats of some of the continent's most majestic animals.

The $35 million African Forest encompasses 6.5 acres of the zoo and represents the largest undertaking in the institution's history. The exhibit will allow the more than 1 million people who visit the Houston Zoo each year to experience what it's like to meander through an African trading outpost and surrounding landscape, all recreated in stunning detail.

Guests come face-to-face with a family of chimpanzees in one of the most compelling parts of the exhibit. The highly-expressive apes interact with their human visitors with just a glass wall to separate them. Down the path, guests encounter one of Africa's largest mammals, the white rhino. Set on an open vista, guests get an unobstructed view of these spectacular creatures. Also not to be missed is the breathtaking herd of Masai giraffes. Several times a day, guests can feed the giraffes for a real hands-on encounter. Marrying numerous animal species with native African architectural elements and authentic cultural performances, the African Forest is a highly immersive experience that's not to be missed.

Houston Zoo Habitats :

Asian Elephant Habitat
After two years of planning and construction, the expansion of the Houston Zoo's McNair Asian Elephant Habitat was finished in fall 2011. The expansion adds 1.5 acres to the elephant herd's outdoor space, a six-fold increase from what the pachyderms previously had. The addition creates a naturalistic habitat, enhancing the living space for the seven elephants, incorporating an 80,000 gallon capacity "elephant sized" swimming pool and a state-of-the-art water filtration system. The new addition to the habitat also includes a shaded 200-seat demonstration area allowing the Houston Zoo's elephant care team to provide more personalized enrichment activities for the elephants while engaging guests with important conservation messages about the endangered status of elephants in the wild.

Shoebill Stork Exhibit
African-native Shoebill Storks get some love from the Houston Zoo in a large, new aviary that opened in June 2010. Inside, the exhibit features a wading pool, a beautiful old oak tree and a more than 70-year-old faux concrete tree crafted by artisan Dionicio Rodriguez—the same mastermind behind the waterfall and grotto that's included in the nearby flamingo exhibit. Encased by a stainless steel woven mesh, guests are afforded clear views of the animals from three sides of the stork's exhibit space.

Natural Encounters
A first of its kind concept in zoo exhibitry, Natural Encounters brings Zoo guests nose to nose with meerkats, tamarins, Asian small-clawed otters, and spectacular coral.

Tropical Bird House
Home to more than 100 of the Zoo's 800 birds, the focus of the Tropical Bird House is a free-flight tropical rainforest aviary. The aviary's elevated bridge and viewing platforms provide a bird's eye view of more than sixty of the world's most beautiful creatures, including the newest arrivals – elephant shrews. Surrounding the Tropical Bird House, the Zoo's outdoor aviaries display flamingos, red-crowned cranes and the largest collection of turacos, African forest birds, on exhibit in the country.

John P. McGovern Children's Zoo
Get eye to eye with a prairie dog, see an eagle's nest and watch a river otter play underwater at the new $6.5 million Children's Zoo. Forty exhibits take visitors through the six ecosystems of Texas: the city, Gulf Coast, desert, forest, prairie and the farm. Pop-up domes allow guests to get “inside” the prairie dog habitat. Visit a realistic bat cave or stroll on a boardwalk through a Texas forest. The Discovery Center features hands on activities for children.

Kipp Aquarium
The Kip Aquarium's twenty five exhibits take visitors on a world tour from the coral reefs of the Pacific to the Amazon basin and Mojave Desert streams. Exhibit highlights include Australia's endangered weedy sea dragon, rare desert pupfish, red bellied piranha, and venomous lion fish.

Wortham World of Primates
Located in the heart of the Zoo, Wortham World of Primates offers up close viewing of some of the world's most fascinating and intelligent creatures. Nestled in a naturalistic setting, Wortham World's boardwalks and tree houses allow visitors to observe the behavior of a wide variety of threatened and endangered primates including mandrills, lemurs, agile gibbons, red capped mangabey, siamangs, patas monkeys, Bolivian gray titis, cotton top and golden lion tamarins, howler monkeys, and Sumatran and Bornean orangutans.

Spectacled Bears
Deeply rooted in the myths and history of Andean culture, spectacled bears are considered the pandas of South America (Venezuela, Columbia, Ecuador, Peru and Bolivia). Like pandas, spectacled bears are carnivores that have independently adopted vegetarian diets. The Zoo's naturalistic spectacled bear habitat features a waterfall, stream and pool, natural grass substrate, climbing features and additional shade.

Koala Crossing
Experience a little bit of Australia, mate, when you visit Derrilin and Yannathan at Koala Crossing. Threatened by habitat destruction in their native habitat, our “ambassadors of Australia” have captured the hearts of Houstonians since their arrival in 1999. The Houston Zoo is one of only 10 zoos in the world to have breed koalas successfully.

Albert and Margaret Alkek Komodo and Crocodile Monitor Exhibit
This open air, glass fronted exhibit houses two Komodo dragons and four crocodile monitors. Endangered in the tropical savanna forests of Indonesia and New Guinea, these extremely large and beautiful lizards have thrived since their arrival in February 2002.

Reptile House
Eighty separate exhibits display more than 300 specimens representing more than 130 species including the most diverse collection of venomous snakes found in any zoo in North America. The Reptile House also is also home to some of the world's most rare and endangered amphibians including Panamanian Golden and Vietnamese mossy backed frogs. The focus of the building's award winning design is Blanco, one of only 14 leucistic (absence of color) American alligators on exhibit in the world.

Okapis
What has horns like a giraffe, a neck like a horse, and legs like a zebra? It's an okapi, the only known living relative of the giraffe. Okapis were unknown to western science until 1901. Also known as forest giraffes, okapis live a solitary existence in their native Congo, coming together only to mate. Their dark brown velvety coat and zebra striped legs serve as camouflage in the dense African rainforest.

Giant Eland
Native to central Africa, giant eland are the largest antelopes in the world weighing up to 1,200 pounds. Houston Zoo's Enterprise Products Partners Giant Eland Exhibit features a raised viewing platform that provides guests with an exceptionally close view of these regal creatures as they graze within a shaded landscape near zebras, camels and kudu. Accompanying educational graphics enhance awareness of this rare species, its natural habitat and conservation efforts to save it from extinction.

African Lions
View these impressive big cats from our elevated viewing platform or close up through a reinforced acrylic observation panel. And don't miss daily keeper chats and training sessions with our Celesto and our king of the jungle, Jonathan.

Indochinese Tigers
Less than 2,000 of these beautiful animals are left in the rainforest and mangrove swamps of southeast Asia. Guests at Houston Zoo can view our males, Pandu and Jammu from an elevated viewing platform or up close during daily keeper chats and training sessions.

Janice Suber McNair Asian Elephant Habitat
Houston Zoo's Asian elephant herd consists of the male, Thai, and three females: Me-Thai, Shanti and her son Mac. Born October 1, 2006, Mac weighed 384 pounds at birth – setting a world record for a newborn Asian elephant calf. These highly intelligent creatures are endangered in the open grasslands, savannas, marshes and forests of India, Thailand, Malaysia and Indonesia. Scientists estimate that there are less than 50,000 wild Asian elephants. By comparison, there are 600,000 wild African elephants.

The Houston Zoo's Wildlife Carousel opened May 1, 2004, located at the entrance to the John P. McGovern Children's Zoo. The carousel is a unique work of art, hand carved and painted by skilled craftsmen from Carousel Works in Mansfield, Ohio. Many of the exotic animals represented on the carousel can be found in the Zoo such as the Okapi, Bongo, Babirusa and Giant Eland. In addition, creatures special to Texas are present as well, including the only armadillos known to exist on as carousel figures.

Zoo History
Founded in 1922, the Zoo is an exciting live animal adventure that provides a unique educational and conservation resource serving 1.5 million guests annually. In 1920, the U. S. government thinned bison herds in national parks and presented one of the animals as a gift to the City of Houston. The arrival of the bison, named Earl, sparked renewed interest in expanding a small zoo that had been established in a small corner of Sam Houston Park in downtown Houston. In 1921, the City of Houston purchased an assortment of snakes, birds and alligators, and in 1922 a fence was erected around a tract of land in Hermann Park to house the collection. The inventory included forty animals, prompting the hiring of the first zoo keeper, Hans Nagel.

From its humble beginnings, the Houston Zoo has grown to become the seventh most visited zoo in the nation and is widely respected for its conservation and education programs. For generations, the Houston Zoo has been a popular destination for family outings. Today it is also a model for animal care and behavioral enrichment. Every visit is a new adventure into the natural and diverse world of animals.

• Visit the Houston Zoo plus 4 more top Houston attractions and save 41% off admissions with Houston CityPAS S .

 

Space Center Houston

Space Center Houston is the official visitors' center of the Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center —the National Aeronautics and Space Administration 's (NASA) center for human spaceflight activities—located in Houston . The facility is operated by the non profit Manned Spaceflight Educational Foundation Incorporated with design input from Walt Disney Imagineering

Space Center Houston is located at 1601 NASA Road 1, Houston, TX 77058, approximately 25 miles south of downtown Houston in the NASA/Clear Lake area.
From Houston, take I-45 south, exit 24 NASA Road 1. Continue 3.5 miles, Space Center Houston will be on the left.

Operating Hours

10am - 5pm weekdays. 10am - 6pm weekends.*

*Extended hours throughout the summer and some holidays.

For hours on a specific day please check the Calendar below or call 281-244-2100.

 

crescent city ' s Attractions

Attractions

NORTHCOAST MARINE MAMMAL CENTER

424 Howe Dr Crescent City, CA 95531-4396
Get Directions (707) 465-6265 northcoastmmc.org

Mission Statement

The Northcoast Marine Mammal Center's (NMMC) mission is to promote the long-term health of marine mammals along approximately two hundred miles of remote coastline in Humboldt and Del Norte counties in Northern California. The NMMC does this through the rescue and rehabilitation of sick, injured, or orphaned marine mammals.

The species we most often rehabilitate are pinnepeds: California sea lions, northern elephant seals, and Pacific harbor seals. Less common patients include northern fur seals, Guadalupe fur seals, and Steller's sea lions.

An additional goal of the NMMC is to develop and present educational programs that foster an understanding of marine mammals and their environment.

The Northcoast Marine Mammal Center is a private Non-Profit Organization , dedicated to the Rescue and Rehabilitation of stranded, sick or injured Seals, Sea Lions, Dolphins, Porpoises and Whales along the Northern most Coast of California. The Center, located in Crescent City's Beachfront Park (See Map) , also promotes public understanding of Marine Mammals and the importance of our Marine Environment.

We recognize our interdependence with Marine Mammals and our responsibility to use our intelligence, resources and compassion to ensure their survival and the conservation of their habitat.

The Center relies upon the generosity of its contributors; Donations, Volunteers and dedicated Medical Staff.

YOU can make a difference too -

Please visit this web site often and enjoy the Pictures of the Seals, Stories of Rescues and Releases, Kids Fun, make Donations, and buy from our Secure Server Ordering at the online Gift Shop.

Description

  • Harbor seals have spotted coats in a variety of shades from silver-gray to black or dark brown.
  • They reach five to six feet (1.7-1.9 m) in length and weigh up to 300 pounds (140 kg).
  • Males are slightly larger than females.
  • They are true or crawling seals, having no external ear flaps.
  • True seals have small flippers and must move on land by flopping along on their bellies.
  • In San Francisco Bay, many harbor seals are fully or partially reddish in color.
  • This may be caused by an accumulation of trace elements such as iron or selenium in the ocean or a change in the hair follicle.

Range

  • Harbor seals are found north of the equator in both the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans.
  • In the northeast Pacific, they range from Alaska to Baja California, Mexico.
  • They favor near-shore coastal waters and are often seen at sandy beaches, mudflats, bays, and estuaries.

 

 

LIGHTHOUSES

 

  • St. George Reef Lightouse

    The St. George Reef Lighthouse is the result of the sinking of the coastal steamer Brother Jonathan, which sank on St. George Reef in July, 1865, with the loss of over 150 lives. As a result, planning was begun to place a lighthouse in these treacherous waters. Constructed between 1882-1892, St. George is called America's most expensive lighthouse, costing in excess of $700,000. Built on a small wave washed rock 6 miles off the coast near Crescent City, California, the lighthouse is composed of hundreds of individually cut granite blocks that were quarried nearly 100 miles South and transported to the site by steamer. Capped by a cast iron lantern room which housed a giant First Order lens, the structure rises 150 feet above the sea.

    One of the Most Dangerous Stations

    Over its years of service, St. George Lighthouse has withstood storms in which waves broke glass in the lantern room, and it was considered to be one of the most dangerous stations in the lighthouse service; during its history, four keepers have been killed while on duty.
    National Register of Historical Places

    Manned by personnel of the U.S. Lighthouse Service and later the Coast Guard, it was in operation until 1975. Its magnificent Fresnel Lens was removed to the Del Norte Country Historical Society Museum in 1983. Through the efforts of the St. George Reef Lighthouse Preservation Society (SGRLPS), the lighthouse was nominated to the National Register of Historic Places in 1993.
    St. George Reef Lighthouse Museum Collection

    The Del Norte County Museum located at 577 "H" Street in Crescent City, has an excellent collection of material from St. George, including its magnificent Fresnel lens. A special two-story viewing room was built to house it. In addition, the museum has a collection of material from St. George, including photographs illustrating its history.

    Lighthouse Location

    The lighthouse is located 6 miles at sea near the California/Oregon border. It can be viewed from Crescent City, California to Brooking's, Oregon and reached by helicopter. The rock on which the lighthouse was built is only 17 feet above sea level and affords no safe landing for boats. Originally, the lighthouse had a boom and derrick that hoisted men and supplies from the rolling deck of a lighthouse tender. After the steel derrick replaced the original wooden one, the tender launch could be lifted to the lower staging area at St. George.
    Lighthouse Tours by Helicopter

    Due to progress in restoration efforts, the SGRLPS is now offering helicopter flights and tours of the lighthouse to the public.

    Weather permitting, flights will depart from the Crescent City Airport in a four place Raven R-44 helicopter. Passengers enjoy a six-minute flight to the lighthouse then landing on a 42-foot wide section of the caisson roof near the base of the tower. From there they are greeted by Society representatives and taken for a one-hour tour.

    Flights are $170.00 per person
    Cash or check only.

    tours@stgeorgereeflighthouse.us

    The St. George Reef Lighthouse Preservation Society

    SGRLPS is a non-profit organization formed in 1988 whose goals were to first acquire and then preserve the St. George Reef lighthouse. The Government Services Administration (GSA), and Del Norte County completed the final transfer of St. George to the Society in 1996. The aim of the Society is to preserve this historic structure for future generations and to tell the story of the role this lighthouse played in the maritime history of the West Coast.

    To help save the lighthouse, contact the society directly.

    For more information on California Lighthouses, visit Legendary Lighthouses website from PBS

    707-464-8299

  • Sunset Harbor RV Park

    Cleanliness, convenience and client satisfaction are our mission. Our friendly staff have the RV supplies that you need on hand, as well as beer, ice, wine, a recreation facility and BBQ areas! Whether you intend on traveling around and seeing some of the sites such as Ocean World, the harbor, the Redwood Forest or just plan on hanging around the camp ground you will have all of the conveniences.

    contact information

    Sunset Harbor RV Park
    205 King St.
    Crescent City, CA 95531
    707-464-3423

    707-464-3423

  • Del Norte County Lighthouses

    Whether you're a lighthouse historian or enthusiast or just someone who appreciates the special quality, serenity and history of these weather- and time-tested gems, the Battery Point Lighthouse and St. George Reef Lighthouse won't disappoint you. Take tours of these two dramatic landmarks and enjoy the unique marine life and waterfowl.

    For event more about California lighthouses visit the Legenday Ligthouses website from PBS .

E-mail: tours@stgeorgereeflighthouse.us ,
Call: 707-464-8299, or
write: SGRLPS - Tours, PO Box 577, Crescent City, CA 95531

 

 

OCEAN WORLD

304 U.S. 101, Crescent City, CA 95531, United States

Phone:+1 707-464-4900

Ocean World aquarium is privately owned and operated and has been in Crescent City since 1964. Originally Ocean World was called Under Sea Gardens and was located in the small boat basin. It was a barge that was built in Seattle as an aquarium and floated down to Crescent City and rested in the harbor. Visitors would descend below the surface of the water to observation windows to view the sea life.

In 1985 the barge was moved to dry land and took on a new life as Undersea World aquarium. The aquarium now consists of tanks holding over half a million gallons and an abundance of sea life, including sharks, seals, sea lions, rays and wolf eels. Now with a name change to Ocean World and added attractions of shark petting, interactive tide pool, and a highflying sea lion performance, we have something for the whole family.

Our tour begins with a trip to our interactive touch and feel Tide Pool Exhibit . On your way you will see some local flora. There is even a place to take a picture with our friendly pirates.

Your guide will tell you about the life in our tide pool, learn about sea anemones, sea stars, nudibranchs, sea slugs, and more. The trip to the tide pool is both fun and educational!

 

 

North Coast Nature Center

North Coast Nature Center
1279 Second Street
Crescent City CA 95531

Telephone: 707-464-3633

The mission of the North Coast Nature Center is to make a connection between people and animals in order to inspire environmental stewardship. The North Coast Nature Center is a hands on, discovery museum featuring animals native to the northern coast of California and from around the world.

 

Fortuna' s Attractions

Attractions

Chapman's Gem & Mineral Shop & Museum

Fortuna, CA 95540
(707) 725-2714

Chapman's Gem & Mineral Shop & Museum in Fortuna, CA is in the Beach California section(s) Museums, Gift, Novelty, And Souvenir Stores, All Other Miscellaneous Store Retailers (Except Tobacco Stores) and All Other Miscellaneous Store Retailers (Except Tobacco Stores). The map of Chapman's Gem & Mineral Shop & Museum shows the approximate location in Fortuna, but you should call them at phone number (707) 725-2714 to verify their address and to get hours and driving directions. Some of the brands and departments of Chapman's Gem & Mineral Shop & Museum Fortuna are Shell's, Rock's, Crystal's, Carvings, Book's and Beautiful Stones From Around The World.

 
 
The Blacksmith Shop

445 Main St
Fortuna, CA 95540
(707) 786-4216

The Blacksmith Shop on Main St in Fortuna, CA is in the Beach California section(s) Commercial And Industrial Machine And Equipment Repair And Maintenance(Not Automotive Or Electronic), Museums and Fine Arts Schools. The map of The Blacksmith Shop shows the approximate location in Fortuna, but you should call them at phone number (707) 786-4216 to verify their address is 445 Main Street, Fortuna, California 95540 and to get hours and driving directions.

 

 

Harker Heights' s Attractions

Attractions

 

DANA PEAK, TX

Contact Information:

Mailing Address:

DANA PEAK 
3800 Comanche Gap Rd 
Harker Heights  TX  76548

Overview

Dana Peak Campground is located on a peninsula on the shoreline of Stillhouse Hollow Lake in central Texas. The lake offers a wide variety of recreation opportunities, including water sports, hiking, biking, horseback riding, picnicking, large group pavilions, hunting, fishing and more. 

The facility is one of only two reservable campgrounds on the lake and often fills up on weekends during summer. 

Stillhouse Hollow Lake was created by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers with the construction of Stillhouse Hollow Dam in 1968. The 6,430-acre lake is located 16 miles upstream of the confluence of the Lampasas and Leon Rivers, which flow into the Little River.

Natural Features:

Aside from two campgrounds and a nearby day-use park, very little of the lakeshore is developed. The edges consist of rocky beaches and sandy bluffs. 

Much of the lake area is forested, though the campground is mostly grassy, flat and open with little to no shade. Most campsites are right along the water's edge; others are within a short walk. 

The lake has noticeably clear and deep water inhabited by largemouth bass, smallmouth bass and channel catfish. A man-made wetland was constructed on the south shore of the lake, providing an additional 10 acres of wildlife habitat in the area.

Recreation:

With 58 miles of shoreline, Stillhouse Hollow Lake is an often uncrowded haven for boaters and fishermen. The campground has a four-lane boat ramp, and visitors who do not have motor boats, canoes or kayaks can rent them nearby. 

Families can enjoy soaking up the sun, swimming at the beach or exploring the Dana Peak Trails (located just outside the main entrance to the park) by foot, bike or horseback.

Birding is a favorite pastime for many visitors with hawks, Great Blue herons, ducks, geese, many species of songbirds, bobwhite quail, Rio Grande turkey and even an occasional bald eagle, yielding year-round opportunities for bird sightings.

Facilities:

The campground has more than 30 campsites, including RV and tent sites with electric hookups and eight primitive tent sites. The park offers restrooms with flush toilets and showers, a swimming beach, several picnic sites and a boat ramp. 

Primitive campsites include a picnic table and a campfire ring with a grill. 

A group shelter is available by reservation for up to 80 people at a time.

Lemoore ' s Attractions

Attractions

42 West D Street - Lemoore, California

The Mooney Museum appropriately sits within just a few feet of the arch that spans D Street designating the western entry into Lemoore's historical downtown district. The beautiful Victorian home was built by one of Lemoore's original pioneer families, Aaron and Sarah Mooney in 1893.

Aaron and Sarah Mooney, having heard of the opportunities for land ownership along the lower Kings River, departed by train from Herkimer County, New York in 1876. In route, they stopped in Coldwater, Michigan where they adopted three-year-old Harriet. Upon arriving in California, they decided to settle in the Lemoore area where Mr. Mooney engaged in merchandising and farming. He later served as the town's first funeral director.

In 1892, they purchased the D Street property and began construction of the house. The dwelling was completed and occupied by the Mooney's in 1893. Aaron Mooney died in 1912. Sarah occupied the home until her death in 1925.

In 1896, Harriet Mooney married Charles Bailey, (Lemoore's "President" from 1916-1921) and had six children. Their oldest daughter, Marie, acquired title to the Mooney property upon her grandmother's death. In 1974, Marie and her husband "Buzz" Blakely presented the house on behalf of Sarah's grandchildren, and in memory of Sarah, to the Lemoore Chamber of Commerce to be used as a Museum

Berkeley' s Attractions

Attractions

UC Botanical Garden at Berkeley

200 Centennial Dr, Berkeley, CA 94720-5045

510-643-2755

garden@berkeley.edu|

MISSION 
"To develop and maintain a diverse living collection of plants to support teaching and worldwide research in plant biology, further the conservation of plant diversity, and promote public understanding and appreciation of plants and the natural environment."

WHO WE ARE
The UC Botanical Garden is a non-profit research garden and museum for the University of California at Berkeley, having a notably diverse plant collection including many rare and endangered plants. Established in 1890, the Garden, which is open to the public year round, has over 13,000 different kinds of plants from around the world, cultivated by region in naturalistic landscapes over its 34 acres.

HISTORY

A small garden of economic plants was established on the Berkeley campus on the site currently occupied by Moffit Library in the 1870’s by Dr. Eugene W. Hilgard (1833-1916), founding Dean of Agriculture . The University of California Botanical Garden was formally established in 1890 by E. L. Greene, the first chairman of the Department of Botany, to form a living collection of the native trees, shrubs, and herbaceous plants of the State of California, with the intent to gather in as rapidly as possible those of the neighboring states of the Pacific Coast. Within two years the collection numbered 600 species. In the following decade it grew to 1500, but then began to expand both its scope and collection to encompass plants from all continents and about 10,000 species.

The original official Garden was located near Haviland Hall on the north side of campus centered around a large glass conservatory modeled after the London Crystal Palace

In the 1920's plans for campus development forced the Botanical Garden out of its initial central campus location (actually, the site remained a parking lot until 2007). Under the auspices of then Garden director T. Harper Goodspeed the Garden was relocated to its current position on 34 acres in Strawberry Canyon above the main campus, using a landscaping scheme created by J. W. Gregg in the Department of Landscape Design. In moving to the new location Goodspeed codified the principle that the Garden's plantings are to be organized according to their geographical origins in settings resembling the native habitats. This principle continues to dominate Garden policy.

 

Following the move to Strawberry Canyon major early additions were made to the collections including the Rhododendron Dell, the New World Desert and associated cactus and succulent collections and the California Redwood Grove (now Stephen J. Mather Redwood Grove). These were followed by the addition of the Chinese Dawn Redwoods (Metasequia) from one of the earliest expeditions to China by a Berkeley paleobotanist.

 

Goodspeed initiated a series of six expeditions to the Andes (carried out between 1935 and 1958). Their primary objective was to collect all species of the genus Nicotiana (tobacco and its close relatives) , with determination of their ranges. A secondary objective was collection of Andean plants in botanically unknown areas, and which led to the acquisition of a magnificent collection of South American cacti and succulents This was enlarged in the late 1940's by R. J. Rodin with a singularly large collection of succulents from southern Africa . Other significant additions in the Goodspeed era were the acquisition of specimens from the rediscovered grove of dawn redwoods in China and the planting of a five-acre grove of Californian coast redwoods.

Following Goodspeed's retirement in the 1950's the Garden directorship passed to Herbert Baker. Under his tenure (1957-1969) the collections were further expanded . A seventh expedition, to Bolivia and Peru in 1964, was carried out by garden botanist Paul Hutchison, which added more succulents as well as tropical plants to the collections. Notable additions included major collections from Mesoamerica , Australia and New Zealand , expansion of the Californian native plant collection, and development of a section for economic plants. Baker instituted a major policy change: other than for a few special exceptions all plants accessioned by the Garden must have complete data on their natural origins. Adherence to this policy has endowed the collection with substantial value for researchers world wide.

 

In the 1970's and 1980's, the Garden made a major change in its orientation. Previously the Garden's principal functions were support of instruction in botany on the Berkeley campus and scientific research -- Goodspeed became the leading authority of his time on the biosystematics of Nicotiana, and Baker is renowned for his research on plant ecological genetics. Under the leadership of Watson Laetsch in 1969-74 and later Robert Ornduff (1974-1991) the Garden launched into a program of outreach to the wider community, becoming the only one of the five natural history museums at Berkeley that is open to the public. A docent program was inaugurated in 1974. Each year the Garden's corps of almost 100 docents lead many hundreds of tours for thousands of school children, adults, and university students.

In 1989, the Garden was placed under the control of the College of Natural Resources and was then transferred to the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research in 1996. During this decade, there was a succession of five acting directors and directors following the long tenure of Robert Ornduff.

 

In 2003, the Directorship was assumed by Dr. Paul Licht, Professor Emeritus, Department of Integrative Biology. The construction of a new entrance to the Garden ushered in a period of revitalization of the infrastructure and an increased reliance on non-state funding. The Garden was initially funded entirely by state funds but is state funds now account for less than one-half of the annual budget.

 

Fund raising and revenue generation are critical to the Garden’s budget. The Friends of the Botanical Garden was established in 1976 as a support group for fundraising and, more importantly, for involving the general public in volunteer activities. Although the formal Friends group was dissolved in 1997, a community of about 250 volunteers continue to support all activities in the Garden. In addition to the docents, a corps of volunteer propagators raises a significant portion of the Garden’s budget through two annual plant sales (spring and fall) and daily plant sales from the Garden Shop nursery. Volunteers staff the Garden Shop, which offers a wide selection of garden-related books and gifts. Additional volunteers donate time and labor in assistance to the horticultural and curatorial staff. Members of the Garden help support its programs and operations.

 

Tilden Regional Park

entrances at Wildcat Canyon Rd & Grizzly Peak Blvd, Berkeley, CA

510 562 7275

Description: Tilden is one of Berkeley's oldest and most popular parks that offers a variety of family-fun activities like pony rides and carousels.

 

About The Park

One of the District's three oldest parks, Tilden has been called the jewel of the system, and its recreational activities have become a happy tradition for generations of East Bay youngsters. From a carousel ride and a picnic to a swim at Lake Anza and a stroll through the Botanic Garden, Tilden has variety to delight everyone. Yet there are plenty of quiet places in Tilden's 2,079 acres to shelter the wildlife and preserve natural beauty. Tilden was named for Charles Lee Tilden, first president of the Park District Board of Directors. The park is reached via Canon Drive, Shasta Road, or South Park Drive, all off Grizzly Peak Boulevard in Berkeley.

Park Activities

Picnicking

Picnic areas are plentiful in Tilden. Reservable picnic areas include Carousel (35), Quarry (35), Big Leaf (50), Buckeye (50), Fern (50), Lakeview (50), Meadows (50), Orchard (50), Island (75), Willows (100), Laurel (150), Padre (150) and Mineral Springs (200). There are barbecues at most picnic areas. To reserve a site, or for more information, call 1-888-EBPARKS or 1-888-327-2757, press option 2.

Weddings and Receptions

Weddings and receptions may be held at Lakeview (50), Laurel (150), Padre (150), and Mineral Springs (200) reservable picnic areas, in addition to the Botanic Garden (50) and the Brazil Building (150). To reserve a site, or for more information, call 1-888-EBPARKS or 1-888-327-2757. For Brazil Building information or reservations, call 1-888-EBPARKS (1-888-327-2757), press option 2; or visit their website at www.brazilianroom.org. If you are interested in becoming an Approved Caterer with the Brazilian Room or other Regional Parks rental facilities, please e-mail the Brazilian Room at brazil@ebparks.org.

Swimming

Just over the hill from Berkeley, Tilden Park's Lake Anza is a favorite getaway. Its sandy beach is open to the sun and sheltered from the wind, with lifeguards posted during the swim season. Wheelchair accessible features include drinking water and ample parking (restrooms are not wheelchair accessible). Picnic grounds are located nearby. There is a beach access fee to the swim area, which has changing rooms. For fee information and lifeguard service schedule, see the Tilden Attractions schedule above, or visit the Swim Facilities page. Swim season is normally May through September and closed for swimming November through March. Trails and picnic areas remain open year-round. Please note the trail around the lake is difficult terrain. The refreshment stand, The Lake Anza Beach Cafe, is open during the swim season

 

Berkeley Marina

201 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94710

510 981 6740

 

Traveller Description: The Berkeley Marina, which is one of the largest urban greenspaces in the San Francisco Bay Area, provides panoramic views of the region's three main... 

Welcome to the Berkeley Marina at the City of Berkeley, CA. We are part of the Parks Recreation & Waterfront.

The Marina's 52 acres of water and 1100 berths can accommodate some 1100 crafts from 16' to 110'.  Surge and rough water are eliminated by an entrance breakwater. Berths have storage lockers, water, electrical outlets, night lighting, parking, restrooms and showers, and locked gates. Attractive restaurants offer a splendid variety of dining facilities. On the north shore is located a launching ramp, an area for car and boat trailer storage, and a marine fueling facility. On the south are a free 3000' public fishing pier -- no license required

 

Berkeley Municipal Rose Garden

1200 Euclid Avenue, Berkeley, CA Location
1200  Euclid Avenue, across from Codornices Park - Northeast Berkeley

Getting There

Map of Parks; or check the link on The Governor's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports: Parks in Berkeley Website for the park location on a Google map. 

Berkeley’s Historic Rose Garden is a regional destination with its 3,000 rose bushes and 250 varieties of roses, along with breathtaking views of the San Francisco Bay and the Golden Gate Bridge.

Rental

For reservations and further information, please call the City Recreation Office at 510-981-5150, or click here.

History 

The Berkeley Rose Garden was one of the first Civil Works Progress Projects built under the Works Progress Administration (WPA). It was conceived in 1933 and completed and dedicated for public use in September 1937. East Bay rose societies and community members donated hundreds of hours of volunteer time. The terraced amphitheatre and 220-foot-long redwood pergola were suggested by architect Bernard Maybeck; the final design and execution were the work of landscape architect Vernon M. Dean and rose specialist C. V. Covell.

For many years, the Parks Department held Rose Week activities in the garden each May, with a Rose Day Celebration on Mother’s Day (the Mother’s Day event was resurrected in 2001 as a joint project of the City of Berkeley and the Friends of the Berkeley Rose Garden). Traditionally, the annual winners of the All-American Rose Society were planted at the garden; other rose varieties were supplied by growers from all over the world.

The Friends of the Berkeley Rose Garden has been very active over the past decade in restoring key historical features and improving accessibility to the garden. Working in partnership with City gardeners, the Friends continue to play a key role in improvements to the garden. The construction of a new entry and overlook on Euclid Avenue sparked new interest in the park. In response to the growing depletion of roses by hungry deer, a perimeter fence was erected in the late 1990s.

The Berkeley Rose Garden is considered by many to be the finest rose garden in northern California. The roses are pruned in January in preparation for mid-May, when the garden is in its most spectacular state

 

Lawrence Hall of Science

1 Centennial Drive, Berkeley, CA 94720-5200

5106425132

Our Mission

To inspire and foster learning of science and mathematics for all, especially those who have limited access to science.

 

Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive

2626 Bancroft Way, Berkeley, CA 94720

510-642-0808

 

Mission
The mission of the UC Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive is to inspire the imagination and ignite critical dialogue through art and film.


The UC Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive is the visual arts center of the University of California, Berkeley. Through art and film programs, collections and research resources, we aspire to be locally connected and globally relevant, engaging audiences from the campus, community, and beyond.

History
One of the largest university art museums in the United States, BAM/PFA opened the doors of its distinctive Modernist building on the south side of the UC Berkeley campus in 1970. BAM/PFA’s diverse exhibition programs and its collections of more than 16,000 objects and 14,000 films and videos are characterized by themes of artistic innovation, intellectual exploration, and social commentary, and reflect the central role of education in BAM/PFA’s mission. 


The museum was founded in 1963 following artist and teacher Hans Hofmann’s donation of forty-five paintings and $250,000 to the University; today BAM/PFA’s collection of work by this important Abstract Expressionist artist remains the largest in any museum internationally. An architectural competition to design the new museum building was announced in November 1964, and the following year San Francisco architect Mario Ciampi and associates Richard L. Jorasch and Ronald E. Wagner were named the winners. The jury declared, “The richness of this building will arise from the sculptural beauty of its rugged major forms and will not require costly materials or elaborate details. We believe this design . . . can become one of the outstanding contributions to museum design in our time.” Construction began in 1967, and the building opened on November 7, 1970.

Mailing Address 
Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive
Woo Hon Fai Hall
2625 Durant Avenue #2250
Berkeley, CA 94720-2250 

 

Milpitas' s Attractions

Attractions

The Great Mall of the Bay Area

447 Great Mall Drive, Milpitas, CA

1-408-956-2033

Type: Factory Outlets, Shopping centres

Activities: Shopping, Dining

Owner description Great Mall, the largest indoor outlet and value shopping destination in Northern California, provides the ultimate shopping experience with more than 200 outlet and value stores ranging from jewelry to women's apparel to sporting goods. Great Mall is home to Last Call by Neiman Marcus, Coach Factory Store, Saks Fifth Avenue Off 5th, H&M, Forever 21, Abercrombie & Fitch Outlet, Gap and Michael Kors.. Shoppers can dine at great restaurants including Dave & Buster’s, Olive Garden Italian Restaurant and Outback Steakhouse, or catch a movie at Century Theatres 20. Great Mall serves the nearby communities of Milpitas, San Jose, Santa Clara and Fremont. Great Mall is located conveniently off the intersection of I-880 and Great Mall Expressway as well as the intersection of I-680 and Montague Expressway. So from the entire team here at Great Mall, we hope that you visit us soon! Looking for the tickets to concerts, sporting games or shows? Simon Guest Services is a Ticketmaster outlet too! Visit our booth located at Entrance 2 Court and we'll help you get the best seats available. Great Mall Means More! More stores. More brands. More savings. More Fun.

 

 

Golfland

1199 Jacklin Road, Milpitas, CA 95305

(408) 263-6855

Fax Number
(408) 263-9460

 

Golfland Attractions

 

Lazer Maze

Make your way through the web of lazers as quickly as you can without triggering any alarms! Challenge your friends to see who can do it the fastest!

Laser Tag

Our lazer tag is great for schools, corporate events, birthday parties, or date night! It is fun for every age group, and everyone is sure to have a blast!

Golfland Arcade

Milpitas is home of the hottest games cutting edge games like Tekken 5, Drum Mania, Guitar Freaks, Initial D, AND MORE! Whether you wanna dance, race, or fight we have a game for you!

 

 

Jose Higuera Adobe Park

457 East Calaveras Boulevard, Milpitas, CA 95035

(408) 586-3210


 

The 700-foot historical building is a perfect setting for social gatherings and meetings. Just outside of the building are picnic tables and a BBQ pit. Historical exhibits are displayed in the building, so visitors can learn about the history of the Higuera Adobe.

 

Montezuma' s Attractions

Attractions

Andersonville National Historic Site

Walter F George Law Museum

Monterey' s Attractions

Attractions

Monterey Bay Aquarium

886 Cannery Row at David Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940

831-648-4888

http://www.montereybayaquarium.org/

Owner description Located at the ocean's edge, the Monterey Bay Aquarium is a window to marine life -- for dive masters and non-swimmers alike. It's home to sea otters, penguins, sharks, jellies and thousands of other marine animals and plants. Its mission is to inspire conservation of the oceans. « less

Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children

 

Dennis the Menace Park

Pearl Street and Camino El Estero, Monterey, CA

831-646-3866

Description: Designed by the creator of Dennis the Menace, this park has all sorts of unique attractions.

 

Monterey Sports Center

301 East Franklin Street, Monterey, CA 93940

831.646.3730

 

Owner description 72,000+ square feet of fitness, fun and family! Two large indoor swimming pools with adult lap swimming all day, 92-degree therapeutic pool, saunas, sundeck, swimming lessons, aquatic exercise classes, triathlon and master's training and more. Three-court gymnasium with basketball, volleyball, badminton, ping pong, wrestling, hockey, soccer, and sports/cheer camps. Two large aerobic studios with spinning, yoga, pilates, zumba, kettlebell and over 100 classes offered every week. Large fitness facility with cardio fitness, strength and flexibility centers. Kid's Zone. Pro Shop/Snack Bar. Free Wi-Fi. Friendly staff. Always clean. Open seven days a week, 5:30 am - 9:30 pm, M-F, 7 am - 6 pm Sat, and 8:30 am - 6 pm Sun - 361 days a year. Affordable prices with monthly, 3-month, 6-month, one-year memberships and drop-in admission

Pearland' s Attractions

Attractions

 

Kelley's Country Cookin'

Address: 2933 Broadway St, Pearland, TX 77581, United States

Phone:+1 281-997-0044

Cloverdale' s Attractions

Attractions

Dutcher Creek Village

Address: 230 Theresa Dr, Cloverdale, CA 95425, United States

Phone:+1 707-894-4829

Dutcher Creek RV Park is a year round park conveniently located just 1 mile off Highway 101 in Cloverdale, California. Transport yourself to this private country setting among Northern California's premier vineyards, deer and other wildlife. RV camping is at its best when it is combined with easy access to Russian River canoeing, kayaking, Lake Sonoma boating, fishing, Healdsburg shopping, local gaming, and other Sonoma County travel destinations. Set at the north-west end of Alexander Valley , Dutcher Creek RV Park provides the splendor of natural habitat, combined with numerous nearby attractions year-round. Whether you choose to lounge poolside, tour Sonoma County Wine Country, or take an adventure hike around Lake Sonoma, you can enjoy the area based at our relaxed setting

 

BobDog Winery

31955 Pine Mountain Road, Cloverdale, CA 95425

707 894-4812

Fax: 707- 595-5585
Cell: 707-756-2471
Email: info@mybobdogwines.com or tim@skypinevineyards.com

The mission of BobDog Wines is summarized in its credo:

  • Sustainable Agriculture, (the love and husbandry of the land itself). We like to say, the only thing leaving the vineyard is adult grape juice. But seehttp://www.sustainablewinegrowing.org
  • Social Stewardship, (charitable giving from wine sales proceeds to programs for the protection and care of animals); an
  • Consumer Education, (multi-media programs and hands on vineyard events for the consumer: the vineyard boot camp series; and our renowned: RedWine & BlueMusic Festival).

 

 

Sulphur ' s Attractions

Attractions

Chickasaw Cultural Center

867 Charles Cooper Memorial Road, Sulphur, OK 73086

 (580) 622-7130
 

After more than 20 years of dreaming and planning, the Chickasaw Cultural Center now serves as a cultural home and an embodiment of our people’s legacy. Offering a Smithsonian-caliber experience, this world-class destination is dedicated to helping people of all ages and backgrounds share in and celebrate Chickasaw history and culture.

Through beautiful scenery, natural architecture and interactive exhibits, the Chickasaw Cultural Center tells a story of the individuals and families who have struggled, fought and thrived across generations to make Chickasaws the united and unconquerable people we are today. We look forward to entertaining, educating and enlightening you; leaving you with an unforgettable experience and broadened horizons.

Our Goal Statement

The purpose of the Chickasaw Cultural Center is TO:
  • Capture the essence of Chickasaw Culture
  • Revitalize and share Chickasaw culture and traditions through cultural demonstrations and community outreach activities
  • Preserve, protect and add to Chickasaw history through archives, collections and research
  • Provide educational opportunities to the Chickasaw people
  • Share our unique culture with the world

 

 

Santa Cruz' s Attractions

Attractions

Kayak Connection

Where413 Lake Ave., #3, Santa Cruz , CA

Call+1 831.479.1121

ABOUT

Kayak Connection is your Sea Kayaking and Stand-Up Paddling resource for the Monterey Bay.  We have two locations in Santa Cruz and in Moss Landing at the Elkhorn Slough where we have multiple tours available for local adventures.

Our professional guides can show off our amazing ecosystem through the Capitola and Natural Bridge Tours, Santa Cruz Harbor Tours, and the Birdwatching or Ride the Tide Tours.  With the amazing wildlife we have to offer, including otters, seals, sea lions, dolphins, whales and an endless variety of birds, these adventures are sure to be a favorite for you or the family.

We also offer rentals for Kayaking and Stand-Up Paddling, advanced tours, a summer kids kayak campbirthday party packages and non-profit / classroom discounts.  We are the on-stop shop for all things paddle related as we also sell premier sit-on top and closed-deck kayaks and stand-up paddle boards.

 

Mystery Spot

Where465 Mystery Spot Road, Santa Cruz , CA

Call8314238897

ABOUT

The Mystery Spot is an area about 150 feet in diameter located in the redwood forests just outside of Santa Cruz, California. Within the Mystery Spot you will be baffled as the laws of physics and gravity cease to exist.

Discovered in 1939 and opened to the public in 1940, the Mystery Spot has amazed and perplexed hundreds of thousands of visitors from all over the world. Many return again to experience the puzzling variations in gravity, perspective, height and more.

 

Museum of Art and History

Where705 Front Street, Santa Cruz , CA

Call831 4291964

ABOUT

This is our community. This is your museum.

The Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History at the McPherson Center (the “MAH”) is located at 705 Front Street in downtown Santa Cruz. We are open Tuesday-Sunday, 11-5, and open until 9pm on Fridays. We host large-scale community events on the First and Third Fridays of the month in the evening, as well as ongoing exhibitions, programs, family festivals, and educational experiences.

Our mission is to ignite shared experiences and unexpected connections. We accomplish this mission when we bring people together around art and history through dynamic exhibitions, events, partnerships, and programs.

Our vision is to become a thriving, central gathering place where local residents and visitors have the opportunity to experience art, history, ideas, and culture. We envision engaged members and visitors who are increasingly passionate and knowledgeable about about contemporary art and local history that celebrate our diverse community.

 

Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk

Where400 Beach St, Santa Cruz , CA

Call831 4235590

ABOUT

The Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, just east of the Santa Cruz Municipal Wharf and a short walk from downtown Santa Cruz, has enjoyed over a century of storied summers. It’s one of only two remaining seaside amusement parks on the West Coast, with an arcade, amusement park, mini-golf course and laser tag. No entrance fee means that on hot summer days, beachgoers run back and forth between the sand and the conflagration of saltwater taffymakers, ice cream purveyors and rides, enjoying the best of both worlds.

Founded in 1904 by businessman Fred Swanton as a casino, the boardwalk is listed as a historical landmark by the California Office of Historic Preservation. In 1911, famed woodcarver Charles Loof contributed the Loof Carousel, and in 1924, the Giant Dipper wooden rollercoaster took its first passengers for a ride that still thrills today. The kitsch of rides like the Cave Train reigned supreme during the 1960s, later giving way to the updated Haunted Castle, while the Cocoanut Grove Ballroom's Art Deco flourishes recall even earlier days. The boardwalk made it to the silver screen a number of times over the years, cameoing in Dangerous Minds and The Lost Boys. Read more about the history of the Boardwalk.

Today,the boardwalk plays host to big-name bands (free on Friday nights during the summer), circus acts and community events like the Wharf to Wharf Race, usually held in July. The boardwalk’s Coney Island-type charm has been souped up by more modern rides, like the Logger’s Revenge log flume, the 125-foot Double Shot tower ride and the all-new Sea Swings, each of which provides a unique way to take in the Monterey Bay scenery—even it’s just for a few fleeting seconds.

History of the Boardwalk

Half a mile from end to end, the Santa Cruz Boardwalk was the Coney Island of the West Coast when it opened in 1907. Once sporting daredevil acts, a live shooting gallery and casino, it has survived the tests of time, Disney, Six Flags and Great America. Now tied as the 44th oldest amusement park in the United States, the park remains a family-oriented, family business.

The Canfield family has owned the Boardwalk since 1915, when the Santa Cruz Seaside Company bought out the original owner. VP of General Services Ted Whiting III is a fourth-generation park employee. “My family owned the concession stand. I earned my first paycheck right over there,” he says, gesturing to a spot to the right of the kiddie ride the Red Baron. According to Whiting, the family business aspect allows the Boardwalk to survive and make plans for the future. “The park reinvests its earnings,” says Whiting. “It allows the company to hold on to the longer view.”

The carousel and the Giant Dipper have some family history too. The renowned carousel woodcarver Charles Looff created the carousel, whose original horses remain in place, and his son Arthur Looff designed the Giant Dipper.

However, the basements beneath the Boardwalk tell a modern version of the park’s old story. Functioning as IT rooms with at least one dismantled computer, the basements are the heart of the park operations. “Our rides are high tech now. We have 10 full-time IT technicians,” says Whiting. “And in case of an emergency, all of the rides stop, except the Giant Dipper—you have to go all the way through to get out.”

The massive basement beneath the Giant Dipper reveals its own secrets. There, stacks of Southern pine lumber are painted and ready to replace whatever is needed for the wooden roller coaster. Four mechanics care for this national landmark.

Those who grew up in the Santa Cruz area fondly recall the time spent at the Boardwalk. “I would go body surfing in the San Lorenzo with friends in the summers,” says one long-time Boardwalk enthusiast. “And then we would always head over to Whiting’s for ice cream afterward.”

Boardwalk aficionados now share the Boardwalk with their families. “Just the other day I took my grand daughter on the Giant Dipper,” Whiting says with a smile. “It was just as much fun as I remember it.”

 

Natural Bridges State Beach

2531 West Cliff Drive near Swanton Blvd., Santa Cruz, CA

831-423-4609

This is a day-use only beach.  Park hours are 8:00am to Sunset.  *Note: There is no camping at this beach.


This beach, with its famous natural bridge, is an excellent vantage point for viewing shore birds, migrating whales, and seals and otters playing offshore. Further along the beach, tidepools offer a glimpse of life beneath the sea. Low tides reveal sea stars, crabs, sea anemones, and other colorful ocean life.  The park also includes a large area of coastal scrub and grasslands, with bright native wildflowers in the spring.  Moore Creek flows through the park, forming freshwater wetlands and a salt marsh before it reaches the sea.

Location - Directions
Take Swift Avenue west from Highway 1, or follow West Cliff Drive north along the in-town bluffs until it ends at Natural Bridges.

Facilities - Activities
A picnic area is located off the main parking lot in a eucalyptus and pine trees grove. Tables, barbecues, water faucets and restroom facilities are available. There is a day-use fee per car to park in the state beach area.  

The visitor center highlights local natural history, and the bookstore has a selection of butterfly shirts, postcards and books for all ages. 

Next to the park's Visitor Center is a demonstration milkweed patch for viewing. Milkweed grows inland, and monarchs seek out milkweed when they leave their coastside winter home.   Female monarchs deposit their eggs on milkweed, the only plant monarch larva eats. Milkweed is critical for the survival of monarchs. On your visit, look for monarch eggs, caterpillars and chrysalides in the milkweed demonstration garden.

Celebrate the butterflies' arrival with the Welcome Back Monarchs Day  in October - and their departure with the Migration Festival in February.

 

Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary Exploration Center

35 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060

831-421-9993

Sanctuary's Mission

Our mission—to understand and protect the coastal ecosystem and cultural resources of the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary—is carried out through resource protectioneducation and outreach, andresearch and monitoring.

Resource protection issues in the sanctuary are wide ranging, from pollution and coastal development to wildlife or ecosystem disturbance. While recognizing the many uses of the marine environment along its long coastline, we work to reduce or prevent detrimental human impacts on sanctuary resources through collaborative partner efforts, regulations and permits, emergency response, enforcement and education.

Our research and monitoring programs evaluate the status and health of marine species, habitats and ecosystems, provide critical information to resource managers and coordinate activities with the array of world-class research institutions in the region.

Education and outreach efforts help promote understanding, support and participation in the protection and conservation of the sanctuary.A variety of means are used to enhance understanding and stewardship of this national treasure, ranging from sanctuary visitor centers and public events to volunteer and teacher education programs.

Building partnerships and strong public involvement is a key element in all of these efforts, and includes ongoing participation of a diversely represented Sanctuary Advisory Council. Sanctuary activities are described in our annual accomplishment reports

 

Fort Valley, ' s Attractions

Attractions

MASSEE LANE GARDENS

100 Massee Lane
Fort Valley, Ga. 31030
478-967-2358

One of the world's finest collections of camellias fills a nine-acre area at Massee Lane, historic home of the American Camellia Society located five miles south of Fort Valley on Hwy. 49. Brick walkways surround the camellia trees for easy viewing.

The Abendroth Japanese Garden, the Scheibert Rose Garden, and beautiful plantings of daffodils, daylilies, chrysanthemums, azaleas, flowering trees, annuals and perennials add to the year-round beauty.

Every day in February acres of camellias burst into bloom at Massee Lane Gardens. The annual Festival of Camellias is a tradition of the American Camellia Society.

The festival encompasses the entire month of February when camellia blooms are at their peak. Blooms begin to show color in October and continue through March.

Two galleries of porcelain art showcase the world's largest public display of Edward Marshall Boehm porcelains. Other featured artists are Cybis, Connoisseur, and Bronn. New porcelains have been added to our extensive collection.

A landscaped greenhouse is always a delightful place to enjoy camellia blossoms as is the tea house in the Abendroth Japanese Garden. A charming gift shop offers camellia accessories and camellia plants.

Festival events include Senior Citizen Days with box lunches, camellia plant sales, a spring fashion show and lLuncheon and camellia workshops.

For more information visit the The American Camellia Society website.

 

LANE SOUTHERN ORCHARDS

P.O. Box 716
Hwy. 96 East & 50 Lane Road
Fort Valley, Ga. 31030
Toll-free: 800-27-PEACH (1-800-277-3224)
478-825-3362
Fax: 478-825-7995 or 478-825-0015

Founded in 1908, Lane Southern Orchards. has grown from a small country packing shed to a well known tourist attraction. The Lane family has built a sprawling entertainment and shopping complex adjacent to its packing facility five minutes from downtown Fort Valley on Hwy. 96.

The complex features a roadside market with fresh seasonal produce, the Just Peachy Gift Shop featuring unique gifts with a Southern flair, the Peachtree Cafe serving lunch and desserts daily and a full service mail order department. The facilities have been expanded to cater to tourists, families and groups of all sizes.

Lane Southern Orchards offers three tours: the orchard tour, the packing line tour and the strawberry fields tour.

The guided Orchard Tour features a tram ride through the peach and pecan orchards. Tour guides explain the history of the peach industry in Georgia as well as how these crops are grown and harvested. Tours last approximately 30 minutes. Available May through August only. Admission is $5 per adult. Call in advance for group reservations.

The self guided packing line tour is free. Visitors can view the entire packing process from an elevated platform. Reservations are suggested for groups of 20 or more, Individuals can take the self-guided tour at anytime during the day. Viewing the entire process should take about 30 minutes. Due to the nature of the peach crop, the packing line does not run every day. Available mid May through mid August only.

The guided Strawberry Field Trip is $5 per student and is conducted in April and May only. Young students will enjoy this package tour. Tour guides will explain how strawberries are grown. Each student will pick one pound of berries and will enjoy a cup of fresh strawberry ice cream. A class photo will be sent back with the teachers to display in the classroom. A strawberry coloring book will be sent home with each child

 

Pearson Farm
5575 Zenith Mill Rd
Fort Valley, GA  31030
Toll-free: 888-423-7374
Local: 478-827-0750
Fax: 478-825-1194

The Pearson family has been growing sweet Georgia Peaches, Georgia Pecans and Vidalia Onions on the same land as the current owner's great-great grandparents for more than 100 years.  For five generations, Pearson Farm has stood for honest values and traditional American southern hospitality. Pearson Farm ships Peaches, Georgia's signature fruit, and other farm products, like pecans, directly from its orchards all over the world!

Pearson Farm consists of 1,400 acres of peaches and 2,300 acres of pecans. They grow more than 30 varieties of peaches and 15 varieties of pecans, all selected for this growing area and soil. Peach trees live for about 15 years, but Pearson Farm has pecan trees that are more than 100 years old. Pearson Farm is certified under the Good Agricultural Practices (GAP) and Primus programs which require particular procedures and monitoring to insure the safety and security of its products. It was one of the first three farms in Georgia to attain GAP status in 2002.

Pineola Farms

Address: 1195 Taylors Mill Rd, Fort Valley, GA 31030, United States

Phone:+1 478-827-0894

Pineola Farms is located in Peach County, Georgia, on 12 acres of land originally owned by Stephen E. Bassett.  The old Bassett home place still stands much as it has for over 140 years. Paul & Delise Knight are the current owners and are proud to call Pineola their home.  Look around our website and feel the warmth and southern hospitality Pineola Farms has been famous for in this area for many generations!  If you are traveling to Andersonville CemeteryPlains Georgia or Massey Lane Gardens on Highway 49, you will be within 1/2 mile of Pineola Farms. Located in Georgia's Historic Heartland.

Visit Peach County, Georgia

Henriette Bassett with her daughters on the porch at Pineola

Pineola was named by Henriette  Bassett. She came to Georgia from Paris, France, in 1919, having married a Georgia man, Captain Ralph Bassett. She had gone to boarding school in England as a young girl and then returned to teach French in an English school. She named the farm Pineola for the Long Leaf Pines in the front yard.  Some of those pines still stand and are over 160 years old.

Southern Hospitality in the Heart of Georgia  -  Middle Georgia's most unique Event Facility - Weddings & Receptions at a true 1800's Georgia Plantation. Your event can be whatever you dream of. We offer 12 acres of pecan orchards, grass lawns, flower gardens, hidden gardens, historic restored Cotton Barn, Victorian Home Place with wraparound porches and much more.

 

Peach County Recreation Department

Address: 700 Spruce St, Fort Valley, GA 31030, United States

Phone:+1 478-825-3334

 

 

marshall' s Attractions

Attractions

Michelson Museum of Art

216 north bolivar street

marshall,TX,USA

903-935-9480

leomich@sbcglobal.net

 

The Michelson Museum of Art was established in 1985 for the special purpose of  accepting and caring for the life work of Russian-American artist Leo Michelson (1887 - 1978). Since then the museum has expanded to include the Gloria and Bernard Kronenberg Collection of early 20th century American art and the Ramona and Jay Ward Collection of African Masks and Chinese Opera Puppets.

Country Pines RV Park
Address: 5935 U.S. 59, Marshall, TX 75670, United States
Phone:+1 903-935-4278
 

 

 

Temecula' s Attractions

Attractions

Temecula Museum

28314 Merceds Street, Temecula, CA 92592

(951) 694-6450

ABOUT THE MUSEUM

Creating the Temecula Valley Museum

The original “Old Town Temecula Museum” was founded in 1985 by Sam Hasson, Nancy (Hicks) Maurice, and Tony Tobin.  The first artifacts exhibited in the museum came from the personal collection of Tony Tobin, and from a collection of objects and exhibits purchased from John Bianchi’s former Frontier Historical Center in Temecula.  The KACOR Development Company and Overland Bank contributed $20,000 for the purchase of local objects in the Bianchi collection when it was sold in 1985.

The Temecula Museum opened in its Butterfield Square location in Old Town in November 1985.  In 1987 the museum moved to larger quarters at 28690 Front Street.  In July 1991 the museum paid rent for the first time upon relocating to an even larger space at 21950 Main Street.

In 1993 Temecula Redevelopment Agency funds were allocated for the construction of a new museum and the renovation of the former St. Catherine’s Catholic Church.  The  chapel reopened in April 1998 and operates a wedding chapel through a collaboration between the Temecula Museum Foundation and the City of Temecula.  Construction on the present museum building started in November 1996 and was completed in mid 1999.

Temecula Valley Museum vision statement:

The Temecula Valley Museum will be a high quality museum that thoroughly and accurately portrays the stories of the Temecula Valley’s past and present through dynamic, fun, and exciting exhibits appealing to both local family audiences and tourists.  The museum will be known as a Temecula destination and a cultural/social center for Temecula Valley residents.

(Museum Exhibit Design Committee, December 1998)

Tony Tobin’s dream of a museum

Over the nearly 40 years they traveled the country, Tony Tobin and his wife Mildred developed a passion for collecting historical objects.  Tobin noted that when his children were young they frequently asked questions about life when he was a boy.  He felt that through preserving early household, farming, and other artifacts, these items could be used to help younger generations understand what life was like in the early 20th century.

For a number of years Tobin maintained an exhibit of historical objects and old western building facades at the Woodchuck RV Resort he and Mildred ran from 1956 to 1977.  As the collection grew Tobin continued to add more material, he envisioned opening a museum to display his collections.  The dream was realized in 1985 when he, along with Sam Hasson and Nancy Maurice, formed a museum committee and secured a space for the collections.  Additional donations were and continue to be made by people in the community.  The museum lobby has been named in honor of Tony and Mildred Tobin.

 

Pennypickle's Workshop - Temecula Children's Museum

42081 Main Street, Temecula, CA 92590

Phone: 951-308-6376
Fax: 951-695-0636
Email: phineas@pennypickles.org

 

Pechanga Casino

45000 Pechanga Parkway, Temecula, CA 92592

(909) 693-1819

Owner description Players can strike it rich on more than 2,000 slots, test their skill at Blackjack, Pai Gow or Poker, and try their luck in the casino's grand Bingo hall. 

 

Country at the MERC

42051 Main St., Temecula, CA 92590

866-653-8696

Owner description Country at the MERC is a live stage show entering its 5th year at the Mercantile Theater in Old Town Temecula. The house band, The Ranch Rockers, hosts a variety of performers in 2 shows at 7pm and 9pm on the first and third Saturdays of every month.

Wichita Falls' s Attractions

Attractions

 Kay Yeager Coliseum

Address: 1000 5th St, Wichita Falls, TX 76301, United States

Phone:+1 940-716-5555

The final addition of the Multi-Purpose Events Center complex was the Kay Yeager Coliseum completed in 2003. This entertainment venue is the cornerstone of the complex featuring permanent seating for 6,500 people and a variety of set-up options for conventions, sporting events, concerts and more. Kay Yeager Coliseum is the home of the Wichita Falls Wildcats Hockey team as well as the site for events each year such as Midwestern State University graduation, Ranch Roundup and WWE Wrestling plus concerts from top-name entertainers like Cher, Miranda Lambert, and Papa Roach. The Kay Yeager Coliseum also includes an NBA-quality Basketball floor, locker rooms, training rooms, large scoreboard and suites

 

Castaway Cove Waterpark Inc

Address: 1000 Central E Fwy, Wichita Falls, TX 76301, United States

Phone:+1 940-322-5500

 

 

Westley' s Attractions

Attractions

Hayward' s Attractions

Attractions

Garin and Dry Creek Pioneer Regional Parks
1320 Garin Avenue, Hayward, CA 94544; Tel. 510.562.PARK
Located on former ranching and farming land, the Garin and Dry Creek Pioneer Regional Parks offer insight into the pastoral history of the Hayward area. The late-summer Garin Apple Festival celebrates the area's apple-growing tradition. Antique apple varieties grown in the orchards may be tasted in the flesh and as juice. Folk music, song and old-fashioned games fill out the day. Year-round activities include picknicking, hiking, horseback riding and fishing.

Hayward Japanese Gardens
22373 N. Third St. at Crescent, Hayward, CA 94546
The Hayward Japanese Gardens provide a relaxing oasis in the midst of the bustling East Bay. The gardens feature over three acres of Japanese and California plants and bonsai arranged in traditional Japanese style, meandering paths, a koi pond, and a teahouse.

Mural Arts Program of Hayward

Foothill Blvd., Hayward, CA

 

The City of Hayward Mural Art Program continues its path towards excellence and deep commitment to its Hayward residents, by working in partnership with various communities, local jurisdictions, commissions, youth and artists to create murals throughout the city. It is with the development and fostering of cultural activism, historical significance, diverse artistic expression and positive collaboration that our mural art takes its inspiration. While this program supports multiple blight elimination efforts, beautification and the promotion of civic pride, its true success shines through in neighborhood enrichment and downtown rejuvenation. 

The Hayward Public Art Mural Program is operated in support of the City Council’s “Crime and Public Safety” and “Cleanliness” priorities. The City is taking a pro-active, preventive approach to help eliminate graffiti through the public mural art program, which was implemented in April of 2009. It is the intent of the program to utilize and showcase local Hayward artists. Murals commissioned under this program are expected to reflect the best, most positive attributes of the Hayward community of Hayward.

 

Hayward Flight

19990 Skywest Dr, Hayward, CA 94541

+1 510-259-0824

Owner description At HAYWARD FLIGHT we offer San Francisco Bay Tours. This attraction includes a flight in a modern cessna aircraft around the bay. The flight follows along many important landmarks including Bay Bridge, Alcatraz, Pier39,Downtown San Francisco, Golden Gate Bridge, etc. Experienced pilots will make the flight unforgetable! Call to schedule

 

Emeryville' s Attractions

Attractions

Oaks Card Club

Address: 4097 San Pablo Ave, Emeryville, CA 94608, United States
Phone:+1 510-653-4456
 
One of Northern California's oldest and largest card clubs. Named after the Oakland Oaks of the old Pacific Coast baseball league, the Oaks Club has been a Bay Area landmark since the late 1890's. Today, our recently expanded casino features 40 tables for nonstop gaming 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The action never stops in our Gaming Room. We feature Texas Hold-em, Omaha Hi-Lo, Stud Poker, Lowball, and Pan. Also, all of the popular California Games including Double Hand Poker, Pai Gow tiles, Pure 21.5 Blackjack, Baccarat Gold, and Three Card Poker, and no matter what you're playing, you'll appreciate being able to catch your favorite sporting events on large screen televisions around the room. For your safety, security guards patrol our parking lots at all times. Valet parking is also available. Within an hour's drive of anywhere in the Bay Area, the Oaks Card Club is one of Northern California's premier card clubs.
 
 
 

Stockbridge' s Attractions

Attractions

Panola Mountain State Conservation Park

2600 Highway 155 SW, Stockbridge, GA 30281
 
770 389 7801
A park within driving distance of Atlanta offering picnic areas and hiking trails.
 Panola Mountain is a 100-acre granite outcrop similar to Stone Mountain, but smaller and much more pristine.  Park visitors will see the outcrop and its rare ecosystem just as Native Americans did centuries ago.  Reservations are required for ranger-led hikes that teach about the rare plants and animals found in this habitat.  
 
Panola Mountain State Park is the crown jewel of the Arabia Mountain National Heritage Area, one of only three National Heritage Areas in the state. The park’s unusual natural beauty and intriguing cultural changes are the basis for this special recognition. Over the years, this area has been home to early settlers, immigrant rock cutters, freed slaves and even Trappist monks. Arabia Mountain National Heritage Area is a partnership among the state of Georgia; DeKalb, Henry and Rockdale counties; the Monastery of the Holy Spirit; and numerous communities and public-private partners. Panola has also been designated a National Natural Landmark. Learn more at www.arabiaalliance.org.
 
Pin Strikes 9
Address: 3478 Mt Zion Rd, Stockbridge, GA 30281, United States
Phone:+1 770-302-0786
Pin Strikes near the Atlanta metropolitan area's favorite type of bowling center. We're a new type of bowling and entertainment center. Bowlers of all ages and levels are welcome!
 
Our mega-modern bowling center features world-class lanes, flashy design, first-class service, 25 state-of-the-art plasma screens and over 38,000 square feet of pizzazz. Expect signature Atlanta ambience - without the big city prices.
 
 

National City ' s Attractions

Attractions

Fiesta Pet Shop
Address: 1145 Highland Ave, National City, CA 91950, United States
Phone:+1 619-477-5997

 

Fiesta Pet Shop has just about everything a pet owner (or future pet owner) will ever need. Puppies, kittens, birds, fish, even reptiles – you’ll find them all at Fiesta Pet Shop, along with all of the supplies you’ll need to make your life and theirs as fun and healthy as possible. We have a huge selection of feed and seed and even offer expert grooming and a weekly shot clinic to keep your pets looking and feeling their very best. When it comes to pets, Fiesta Pet Shop has what you’re looking for!

  • Tropical Fish
  • Puppies
  • Kittens
  • Birds
  • Aquariums
  • Grooming Service
  • Feed
  • Supplies
  • Much, Much More

Have questions? Please give us a call at 619-477-5997

 

Riverside ' s Attractions

Attractions

Riverside National Cemetery

22495 Van Buren Boulevard, Riverside, CA
 
 

March Field Air Museum

P.O. Box 6463, March Air Reserve Base, Riverside, CA 92518
 
951 902-5949

On December 19, 1979, Lt. General James P. Mullins, 15th Air Force Commander, delivered an address at the dedication ceremony for the new March Air Force Base Museum. 

 

The new museum was initially housed in the March Air Force Base's 1930-vintage base theater (shown here) located just north of the base's parade ground. There, the museum's 2000 square foot main exhibit area was filled with photographs depicting the history of the base from
its founding in 1918. Model airplanes and paintings were also original display items. An aircraft park, to feature aircraft that once flew from March, was also established near the main gate at Cactus and Graham. "It's important to capture the essence of our past and to portray and illustrate the history of March Field." said Major Brian Daly, the museum's first director.

 In 1980 three important museum events occurred. One --- the March Field Museum was officially recognized as an Air Force Facility in March 1980. Two --- the March Field Museum Foundation was established in May 1980. Three --- in November 1980 the display area for museum aircraft (featuring three aircraft) was open to the public.  The March Field
Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to support the museum with fund raising and volunteer help.  The Foundation operates a Gift Shop, holds golf tournaments, annual Santa Maria Barbeque's and other events to raise money. $400,000 was raised to build the current hangar building.

 

During the early years the March Field Museum grew by leaps and bounds, so much so, that within a year the museum quickly doubled the number of artifacts in its possession and filled the theater building to capacity. So rapid was the growth that the museum outgrew its original building and needed to be moved to new quarters.

 

On February 20, 1981, the March Field Museum opened its doors to the public in another facility shown here (Building 420--the former commissary building). The building was 26,000 square feet and allowed for two or three aircraft to be put indoors plus the relocation of the
collection and office space. Prior to 1993, most of the approximately 50 airplanes were located on a flightline parking ramp. The March Field Museum remained in the commissary building until 1993 when the museum moved to its current location on the west side of the runway. The 26,880 square foot facility allowed for more and better displays on aircraft and March Field history.  The aircraft are now parked at the new museum location and can be seen from the freeway.  Before 1996, the museum director's office had been staffed by either civil service or
military personel under the Vice Wing Commander's office.  In April 1996, upon the realignment and downsizing of  March Air Force Base, the museum  (all but the airplanes, which remain on loan to USAF) was turned over from the USAF Museum at Wright Patterson AFB, through the Joint Powers Commission, to the March Field Museum Foundation, to be run as a private, non-profit institution.

 Since that time, the P-38 National Association has added their museum building to the grounds.  On June 15, 2000, a dedication ceremony for the new Dick Van Rennes Restoration Hangar was held. The restoration hangar is located near the P-38 building.

 In May, 1999, the Board of Managers approved changing the name of the museum from "The March Field Museum" to "The March Field Air Museum".  

The March Field Air Museum opened a new 12,000 square foot "Hangar 2" in June, 2011, for educational programs, the museum library and events.

 

California Citrus State Historic Park

9400 Dufferin, Riverside, CA 92504
 
+1 951-780-6222
 
 

Kingsland' s Attractions

Attractions

Kingsland and the surrounding area have so much to offer–both in history and natural beauty–that you'll find it very easy to spend a week exploring the sites and still want to come back for more.

More information about the Kingsland area can be obtained from the Kingsland Convention and Visitor Bureau.

Kingsland's Historic Downtown

Rich in history, the city's downtown district has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places. A street-escaping project has returned the downtown to the charming look it had in the 1920s and 1930s, and visitors can wander the bricked sidewalks in search of a great bargain on Antique Row.

Cumberland Island

Take the short ferry ride out to this unspoiled island and you'll feel as if you have stepped back in time. On this national seashore, it is the animals that rule, and the people are only visitors.

 Wild horses run free through the marshes and the windswept dunes, while the inland forests shelter deer, alligator, armadillo, and mink.

 Visitors can also explore the ruins of the once magnificent Carnegie Estate, "Dungeness".

 To make reservations for the ferry, call (912) 882-4335.

 Okefenokee Wildlife Refuge

Take a short drive west of Kingsland and find yourself in a world where boats are the main form of transportation. Okefenokee, an Indian name meaning "Land of the Trembling Earth," is a vast wetland area encompassing around 400,000 acres of canals and moss-draped cypress trees.

 Visitors to the refuge can enjoy guided boat tours or paddle their own boats as they encounter the hundreds of species of plant and animal life, including the often-photographed alligators, which call the Okefenokee home. Fishing, camping, picnicking, and bike rentals are also available.

 For more information, call 1-800-SWAMP 96.

 

St. Marys Submarine Museum

Military buffs and people just fascinated by adventures undersea won't want to miss the St. Marys Submarine Museum. Both residents and visitors to Kingsland and St. Marys are fascinated by the local Kings Bay Naval Submarine Base, the Atlantic coast home of Trident nuclear submarines and the museum is the perfect way to learn more about how these amazing underwater machines work.

The museum houses more than 3,500 items, including models, photographs, written histories, and artifacts. It also contains a working periscope, through which visitors may view the surrounding area.

 For more information on the museum, call (912) 882-2782.

 

Vacaville' s Attractions

Attractions

Vacaville Premium Outlets

321 Nut Tree Road, Suite 2, Vacaville, CA 95687

707-447-5755

Owner description Vacaville Premium Outlets is more than just an impressive collection of the finest brands, it is one of the area's largest shopping destinations. Include a shopping stop during your next trip to the area. Located 45 miles east of San Francisco and 20 miles west of Sacramento, you're sure to find impressive savings of 25% to 65% all year round. Local Shop & Stay packages are available

 

Vacaville Museum

213 Buck Ave, Vacaville, CA 95688

707-447-4513

 

http://www.vacavillemuseum.org/

About Us

The Vacaville Museum, a Center for Solano County History, is the only institution whose mission includes cultural and historical preservation for all of Solano County. Through exhibits, publications and educational programs, the Museum continuously promotes the value of community heritage. Since 1984, Vacaville Museum has produced 40 exhibits, as well as numerous publications important to the history and sense of place of Solano County.

 

Center Mass Shooting Range

Address: 27 Commerce Pl, Vacaville, CA 95687, United States

Phone:+1 707-449-4867

http://centermassrange.com/

About Center Mass Shooting Range

Owned and operated by Ed and Catherine Tubbs. Ed is a former police officer and firefighter. Ed has an extensive background in public safety and hunting. Catherine is a gun enthusiast and instructor. Our staff are experienced hunters, shooters and public safety personnel.

On behalf of all of our staff, we welcome you to the Center Mass Shooting Range. Our aim is to meet all of your needs and our target is to give you the service you deserve and need.

We want your visit to be comfortable and pleasant. Please think of our range and store as yours.

Sincerely,

Ed and Catherine Tubbs - Owners

 

Sunrise Trailer Park

Address: 932 Davis St #18, Vacaville, CA 95687, United States

Phone:+1 707-448-3258

 

Fremont' s Attractions

Attractions

AQUA ADVENTURE WATER PARK

40500 Paseo Padre Pkwy.
Fremont, CA 94538

 

Fremont Art Association
37659 Niles Blvd.
Fremont, CA 94536-2947
Phone: (510) 792-0905

 

Nova Gallery of Fine Art
43801 Osgood Rd.
Fremont, CA 94539-5630
Phone: (510) 353-1464

 

 Ardenwood Historic Farm
34600 Ardenwood Blvd.
Fremont, CA 94555
Phone: (510) 796-0663
Link: Website

 

Shinn Historical Park and Arboretum
1251 Peralta Blvd.
Fremont, CA 94536
Phone: (510) 790-5541
Link: Website

Overview
Available April through September, the maximum capacity for the facility is 200 people. Shinn is an outdoor facility only. Restrooms are only opened during private rentals and are not available for public use.

The Mission Peak Heritage Foundation will open the Shinn House for group tours or in conjunction with a reservation. The facility is ADA accessible. For more information on tours of the Shinn House, please contact Joan Serafino at (510) 795-0891.

 

Niles Essanay Silent Film Museum and Edison Theater
37417 Niles Blvd.
Fremont, CA 94536-2949
Phone: (510) 494-1411
Link: Website

 

Vallejo' s Attractions

Attractions

The City of Vallejo is host to many year-round attractions that make our city unique. Listed here are just some of the attractions that keep people coming back. In Vallejo, there's always something new to explore. - See more at: http://www.ci.vallejo.ca.us/attractions___events/attractions#sthash.U8L8NJ9s.dpuf

 

Mare Island Historic Park

Mare Island Naval Shipyard (MINSY), lLocated in the San Francisco Bay Area at Vallejo, California was very important in our country's history. For over 142 years, our country's defense depended on Mare Island Navy Yard as well as over 100 organizations which were in operation there over the years

The Mare Island Historic Park Foundation's master plan is to recover as much of that history, plus the operating character of the shipyard, as possible and make it available to scholars and other interested individuals and groups. Our educational and museum projects aim to represent many of these activities in a meaningful and living way. In addition, Mare Island ships are brought in, so visitors from all over the world can see the end product of these labors.

The American people have the right to be proud of the accomplishments of our Navy, and Mare Island. The shipyard was the home of over a hundred "firsts" in its 142 years of operation. Our newest citizens and future generations will have an opportunity to see and hear about what went on inside this s s former top-secret base. The work of over 200,000 people who "made it happen" will be preserved and put on display.

We hope you enjoy your visit to our Web site and look forward to your "non-virtual" visit to Mare Island, sometime real soon!

 

 

 

Vallejo Naval and Historical Museum

734 Marin Street, Vallejo, Ca 94590

Telephone: (707) 643-0077

e-mail: valmuse@pacbell.net

The Vallejo Naval and Historical Museum preserves and exhibits the diverse and exciting history of the City of Vallejo and the former U.S. Naval Shipyard at Mare Island . The Museum is located in Vallejo 's historic Old City Hall and features five galleries devoted to community and U.S. Navy history.

Additionally, the Museum sponsors educational and cultural programs that include group tours, concerts and recitals in our Heritage Chamber, lectures, audio-visual presentations, and others special events for the benefit of the community. The Museum occupies over 25,000 square feet and has exhibits that are maintained in five galleries and include selection from the permanent collection of the Museum, local private collections, traveling exhibitions, and borrowed artifacts from the extensive collection at Mare Island . A working submarine periscope is installed though the roof and gives an excellent view of the City and Mare Island .

The City of Vallejo is host to many year-round attractions that make our city unique. Listed here are just some of the attractions that keep people coming back. In Vallejo, there's always something new to explore. - See more at: http://www.ci.vallejo.ca.us/attractions___events/attractions#sthash.U8L8NJ9s.dpuf
The City of Vallejo is host to many year-round attractions that make our city unique. Listed here are just some of the attractions that keep people coming back. In Vallejo, there's always something new to explore. - See more at: http://www.ci.vallejo.ca.us/attractions___events/attractions#sthash.U8L8NJ9s.dpuf

Dixon' s Attractions

Attractions

Dixon City Park & Facility

Address: 285 E Chestnut St, Dixon, CA 95620, United States

Phone:+1 707-678-7050

 

Dixon Fairgrounds

Address: 655 S 1st St, Dixon, CA 95620, United States

Phone:+1 707-678-5529

Fax: 707- 678-4765

The Dixon May Fair is the oldest district fair and fair-grounds in the state of California. Supporting the communities of Dixon, Vacaville, Fairfield, Rio Vista, Elmira, Woodland and Davis, the Dixon May Fair offers the best of community and agriculture related activities throughout the year.

Located on Highway 
113 just South of Downtown Dixon.

 

Hall Memorial Park

Address: Dixon, CA 95620, United States

Phone:+1 707-678-7000

 

 

Tracy' s Attractions

Attractions

 

San Jose ' s Attractions

Attractions

Lick Observatory on Mt. Hamilton

7281 Mt Hamilton Rd, San Jose , CA

+1 408.274.5061

ABOUT

Whether looking up into the heavens or down into the valley below, the views from the high point of Lick Observatory can't be beat on a clear day or night. Its overlook from the south end of the valley boasts views to the San Francisco Bay and beyond (some say they can see Mount Shasta). Lick Observatory was built in 1888 by the philanthropist James Lick, a Pennsylvania native who originally came to the valley to start a mill and wound up owning much of downtown San Francisco after the gold rush. In its early days, Lick Observatory and the spectacular 27-mile winding roadway leading up to it was a huge tourist attraction heralded for offering the "most advanced astronomy appliances in the world." University of California Santa Cruz scientists still monitor the observatory's updated, world-class telescopes around the clock.

Valley cities use of orange-hued Low Pressure Sodium (LPS) lamps for most street lighting and parking lot illumination in deference to the observatory. Bright urban

 

Children's Discovery Museum of San Jose

180 Woz Way, San Jose , CA

+1 408.298.5437

ABOUT

2009 BEST OF SILICON VALLEY Reader Survey Winner - Third Place

best History/Specialty Museum


The purpose of Children's Discovery Museum of San Jose is to serve the needs of children, families and schools as a center for learning and discovery. For children, it is first and foremost a place to call their own, offering interactive exhibits and programs in a warm and inviting setting.

Our Educational Mission encompasses the themes of Connections, Community, and Creativity. In its unique environment, children actively make connections among ideas, people and cultures. The Museum's programs also encourage children to define their role in and contribution to both local and global communities.

We have welcomed over 5 million visitors since opening in 1990.  Our 52,000 square foot facility is the ultimate place for children to develop their own knowledge through fun and educational interaction. As a center for creative play and expression, Children's Discovery Museum of San Jose provides opportunities for all of us to discover the world through the eyes of our children.

 

San Jose Flea Market

1590 Berryessa Rd, San Jose , CA

+1 408.453.1110

ABOUT

A California tradition since 1960, now celebrating our 50th Anniversary and looking forward to the next 50 years! Explore miles of colorful corridors with great food, produce, collectibles, crafts and bargains. You'll find an enormous variety! 
Open Wednesday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday, from dawn to dusk (see our holiday schedule.) If you’re new to the San Jose Flea Market or you’re visiting from out of town, we highly recommend you come on the weekend to experience everything SJFM has to offer.

 

The Tech Museum of Innovation

201 S Market St, San Jose , CA

+1 408.294.8324

ABOUT

With its splashy, mango-colored exterior, the Tech stands out among everything else in downtown San Jose. Millions have visited the place since it opened at the original location in 1990, which was around the corner on San Carlos Street. The Tech's founders envisioned a world-class facility wholly devoted to science and technology exactly what one would expect from Silicon Valley'nd today people from across the globe have descended upon San Jose to check out its educational displays.

The Tech is a cosmopolitan museum singularly focused on technology—how it works and the way that it is changing every aspect of the way we work, live, play and learn. Its people-and-technology focus and the integration of advanced technologies into visitor experiences and infrastructure, distinguishes it from other science centers.

The 132,000 square feet of The Tech are shared by four major theme galleries packed full of one-of-a-kind exhibits, the Hackworth IMAX Dome Theater, an educational center for workshops and labs, an upscale cafe, and a retail store featuring books, gifts, and only-in-Silicon Valley items. An estimated 650,000 visitors are expected to trek to The Tech each year, making it one of California's most popular destinations.

 

 

 

Pleasanton' s Attractions

Attractions

 

Ruby Hill Winery

400 Vineyard Avenue, Pleasanton, CA 94566

(925) 931-9463

Our Philosophy

Our philosophy at Ruby Hill Winery is simple. It begins in the vineyard growing and sourcing the best grapes we can find. Then continues in the cellar where our winemaking team hand-crafts each wine to perfection. Our wines are balanced and approachable, they can be enjoyed now, or can be treasured for the years to come. We offer our wines at a reasonable price so everyone can afford to enjoy them. Our staff is friendly and knowledgeable and will insure that you have an unforgettable experience 

Our History  

In 1883 John Crellin planted the first vineyards into a red clay knoll and called it “Ruby Hill”. By 1889, Ruby Hill Winery was one of the largest producers of wine in the Livermore Valley. John passed away in 1921 and the property went through a number of owners, Prohibition, and fire that nearly destroyed it all.

 Protected by the Friends of the Vineyards since the 1980s, Ruby Hill Winery was resurrected by Mike Callahan in 2002 and our tasting room was opened in 2008. Joined by our extraordinary winemaking team, Ruby Hill Winery continues to make history

 

Museum on Main

603 Main St, Pleasanton, CA 94566

(925) 462-2766

Mission

Enriching Community Life Through Education and Preservation

We are dedicated to linking the past to the future by preserving, clarifying and disseminating information about history specific to the Tri Valley region and by encouraging participation in the arts and humanities through our public programs.

We carry out that mission through the following programs and projects:

  • Permanent and temporary exhibitions at the Museum on Main Street
  • Guest lecturers,presentations and panel discussions about local, state, regional and national topics
  • Tours for school groups, scouts, and other youth and adult organizations
  • Newsletters, pamphlets and other publications
  • Encouragement of long-time residents, newcomers and visitors to delve into local and regional history
  • Special events and public programs, such as Ghost Walks and Wild West Evening
  • Acquisition, archiving and care of  historic artifacts, documents, oral histories and photographs that enhance the role of the Museum on Main Street as an architectural and cultural resource

History of the Museum on Main 

In 1963, concerned about the rapid development in the Amador-Livermore Valley, local residents organized to preserve the regional history of the area. The Amador-Livermore Valley Historical Society (ALVHS) was founded on April 18, 1963 and began its decades-long effort to protect, preserve and interpret the history of the valley. The Amador-Livermore Valley is located approximately 35 miles east of San Francisco and includes the towns of Pleasanton, Dublin and Livermore. 

In 1970 the ALVHS proudly gained its first building located at the Alameda County Fairgrounds in the old Administration Building. The ALVHS quickly took possession of the old building and established the first museum in the area especially devoted to local history. Finally the ALVHS had a building in which they could preserve and display their many artifacts. 

In 1984 the City of Pleasanton offered the vacant building at 603 Main Street to the ALVHS. This building, built in 1914 by funds donated by the Pleasanton's Women's Improvement Club, once housed the old Town Hall, the Police Department and the first free library in the city of Pleasanton. It was the perfect setting for an organization dedicated to preservation of the region's history. 

Museum on Main is a proud member of the American Alliance of Museums, the American Association for State and Local History, the Museum Store Association, the Western Museums Association,and the California Association of Museums

Merced' s Attractions

Attractions

Applegate Park Zoo

Address: 1045 W 25th St, Merced, CA 95340, United States

Phone:+1 209-385-6840

 

Merced County Fair

Address: 900 Martin Luther King Jr Way, Merced, CA 95340, United States

Phone:+1 209-722-1506

Contact Info

When planning an event, contact us immediately! We can alert you to cancellations, additional services and facilities which are not listed, or add you to a waiting list.

  • • Hours: Monday through Friday (except State holidays) from 8 a.m.–Noon and 1 p.m.–5 p.m.
  • • Email: Info@MercedCountyFair.com
  • • Phone: (209) 722-1506, Fax: (209) 722-3773
  • • Street and mailing address: 900 Martin Luther King Jr. Way, Merced, CA 95341
  • • Thomas D. Musser, CEO
  •  Meet the staff

Discover Fair Sponsorship Opportunities!

If your business or organization would like more information about becoming a sponsor please contact the Fair's sponsorship rep, David Nalchajian, Inc. at (559) 227-9999 or email david@nalchajian.com

Mission Statement

The 35th District Agricultural Association strives to maintain and promote its facilities in a manner that encourages year-round use and to annually produce a fair that showcases the area’s agriculture and other talents of the culturally diverse communities.

Fair Board of Directors

The Merced County Fair's Board of Directors are appointed by the Governor of California to four-year terms and volunteer their services.

Meeting Notices and Agendas

Meetings of the Fair Board and committees are posted on the Fairgrounds Calendar. Agendas for upcoming meetings are posted on Events, where you can view or print the agenda PDF (PDFs require free Adobe Reader).

Junior Fair Board

Teens who volunteer their talents for a year, serve on the 12-member Junior Fair Board (JFB).

Employment Opportunities

Employment announcements are listed on the Fair's Employment web page.

Escondido' s Attractions

Attractions

 

Patio Playhouse Community Theatre

Address: 201 E Grand Ave #1D, Escondido, CA 92025, United States

Phone:+1 760-746-6669

About Us

Patio Playhouse was incorporated in November of 1967 to establish a theatre group for theatrical arts education and presentation. For over four decades, we’ve been building a community of playgoers and participants by providing affordable, quality entertainment and opportunities for people to take part in the production of award-winning shows.

We provide a venue where people from school age to seniors can participate in live drama, learn new skills, and enrich the quality of life in the community. Our Youtheatre introduces live theatre to school children by providing school performances.

We want to keep participation affordable and open to all in the community so, unlike some other theatres, we don’t require audition or performance fees.

We have no salaried employees. All aspects of productions and theatrical management are performed by volunteers.

We’re a federally chartered non-profit corporation supported solely by tax-deductible donations, membership dues and box office receipts.

Memberships at a variety of levels are available and form a big part of our support. By becoming a member, your tax-deductible donation helps promote good theatre experiences for playgoers and performers alike.

 

San Diego Children's Discovery Museum

Address: 320 N Broadway, Escondido, CA 92025, United States

Phone:+1 760-233-7755

our Mission

The mission of the San Diego Children’s Discovery Museum is to inspire children to learn about our world through exploration, imagination, and experimentation.

 

A Brief History

Founded as the Escondido Children’s Museum (ECM) in 2001, the San Diego Children’s Discovery Museum today is a dynamic and successful cultural institution that serves our diverse communities and visitors to North San Diego County. Over the last ten years, the San Diego Children’s Discovery Museum has flourished as it has served a growing clientele of members and guests. Our staff, donors, sponsors, board members and volunteers are dedicated and passionate about our mission—to inspire children to learn about the world they live in through exploration, imagination, and experimentation.

In 1999, based on research on other start-up children’s museums, the ECM began with a traveling educational program for elementary school students combining physics and art through kite-making. In 2001, ECM opened the doors of its first facility on historic Grand Avenue, a small-scale but fully diversified museum, the first phase of the vision for the organization and a growth strategy that prioritized close involvement with successful community groups. The facility’s central location and petite size enabled the Board to plan for growth. This approach paid off when the City played a key role in helping the Museum move to its second facility in 2004, a 4,500 square foot indoor-outdoor space at the California Center for the Arts. This facility provided a crucial opportunity for the museum to grow internally and to create a dynamic role for itself in the community and region.

In 2010, the board changed the name of the organization to better reflect the growing community of guests and supporters. What has been consistent over these ten years is that by offering an 

inspirationaland non-commercial hands-on setting, the SDCDM provides a distinct and valuable space where children learn about world cultures and science through play. Numerous studies have shown that through play, children learn to act and think in a way that harnesses their imaginations, which helps them achieve and succeed early in school and throughout their lifelong learning journey. The SDCDM has been a pioneer in this area for ten years, and has proved the value of this experience for families, pre-schools, schools, and home-school groups, and groups such as scouts, Mommie-and-Me, and special needs children.

Serving children ages 0-10, SDCDM focuses on these critical years of child development while also encouraging families to learn together. Through professionally designed exhibit spaces and programs, children engage a wide range of concepts about science and world cultures. Whether children are playing musical instruments, putting on costumes to perform, discovering history in an archeological dig box, learning about the amazing world of plants and insects, or building structures out of recycled materials, children are able to combine learning with creativity for an educational experience all their own.

SDCDM is not only an important educational resource for San Diego County and southern Riverside County children and families, but also serves a great need locally. In Escondido, SDCDM is the only hands-on children’s museum for the approximately 18,000 students in the 23 K-8 schools. There are 10 Title I (low-income) schools in the area, four within walking distance of the museum. SDCDM is dedicated to providing these children with exhibits and programs that meet or exceed California State Standards in Education at low to no-cost admission.

From the beginning, SDCDM has been passionate about encouraging children to engage with the world through an appreciation for diverse global culture and traditions. With the support of donors and supporters, SDCDM has now established a permanent facility in historic downtown Escondido. Passionate about continuing to build connections in the community, SDCDM thinks creatively about making connections in our neighborhood, along the Highway 78/I-15 corridors, through the Internet and satellite media. We are a private non-profit organization that is committed to continuing to run our small business efficiently and in as green a manner as possible. We have become an integral part of the North San Diego community and cultural landscape, and based on where we are today, we look forward to a bright future

 

Orfila Vineyards

Address: 13455 San Pasqual Rd, Escondido, CA 92025, United States

Phone:+1 800-868-9463

 

Grape Day Park

Address: 321 N Broadway, Escondido, CA 92025, United States

Phone:+1 760-839-4691

 

Lake Dallas' s Attractions

Attractions

Willow Grove Park
Address: Lake Dallas, TX 75065, United States
Phone:+1 940-497-2226
Willow Grove Park offers a scenic location for an afternoon picnic, a place to fish, overnight camping or just to relax in nature. Located on the shores of Lake Lewisville just minutes from I-35, its peaceful waters and beautiful surrounding make you feel like you are on a private lake side retreat.

Willow Grove Park has given locals and campers from afar the opportunity to enjoy nature and escape from their busy lives for many years.    Willow Grove Park is leased by the City of Lake Dallas from the United States Army Corp of Engineers.  

A grant received from the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department in 2006 allowed the City of Lake Dallas in cooperation with the Lake Dallas Community Development Corporation and the Corp of Engineers to begin an improvement plan at Willow Grove Park.  In June of 2007, updates to the park were made with new amenities and improved camping spaces. In 2011, additional improvements are planned including a shower house facility and single-lane boat ramp.

 

Willow Grove Park is here to meet all of your vacation and relaxation needs.  Over the years we have been able to provide a fun and relaxing place for guests to escape from the stress of everyday life.

The park is a vital component of the vision of the City of Lake Dallas.  Lake Dallas' vision is to be a proud community with unique charm, built on strong family and community values, with exciting lake-side, recreational, and tourism assets supported by a diverse and profitable business base.

 

 

Flying and Floating Toys
Address: 6060 S Stemmons Fwy, Lake Dallas, TX 75065, United States
Phone:+1 214-621-8499
 
At Flying and Floating Toys we proudly feature Malibu high performance ski and wake board boats. Malibu boats are the “Cadillac” of ski boats. Our Malibu Sportster ski and wake board boat has a tower for pulling you at a higher angle and with 310h.p. it will pull you out of the water quick.
With an inboard motor it’s also safer because the prop is under the boat, not behind the boat. This means far less chance of coming into contact with the prop when boarding the boat from the water.

Our Malibu Sportster also has an iPod compatible Alpine stereo so you can bring your own music to the boat. This is the captain’s personal boat and it is serviced and maintained regularly by the local Malibu dealer.

All Malibu rentals include a captain, wake board, and combo water skis. You can add a 5 person banana tube or 2 person round tube to your rental for an additional $20. The Malibu can accommodate groups up to 7 people
 
Flying and Floating Toys features Yamaha Wave Runners. We rent the VX110 Deluxe models. This model is rated for 3 people or 520 pounds. With 110 h.p. it will do up to 55 mph on the water. This model also has a reverse feature. Our jet skis look better and out perform the competition
 
We offer two kayak models to choose from, the single person Looksha 17 and the 2 person Manitou II. The Looksha is 17' feet 4" inches long and 24" inches wide and weighs 65 pounds. The Manitou II is 14' feet 8" inches long and 28" inches wide and weighs 75 pounds. Both models have a rudder system with adjustable foot pedals and both are made of polymer material. Rental includes paddles, life jackets, and tow straps for your vehicle.
 

Lawrenceville' s Attractions

Attractions

Gwinnett County Historical Society
Address: 185 W Crogan St, Lawrenceville, GA 30046, United States
Phone:+1 770-822-5174
History of Gwinnett County

Gwinnett County was created by act of legislature on December 15, 1818 and named for Button Gwinnett (1735-1777), one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence. The first government was convened at Elisha Winn's home (the Winn House). Land for the new county came from Jackson (formerly Franklin) County and from the Indian Cession of 1818. In the east, the land was given out as Headrights. The majority of the county was divided into three districts(5, 6, 7) and distributed through the 1820 Land Lottery in lots of 250 acres each.

War
Gwinnett sent three representatives; James P. Simmons, Richard D. Winn, and Thomas J. P. Hudson to the secession convention in Milledgeville. All three voted against secession (Gwinnett had a relatively low ratio of 1 slave to every 4 whites). During the war, Gwinnett raised 12 companies of infantry, five troops(companies) of cavalry, and one artillery battery. In late October 1864, Gwinnett saw raids and skirmishes in Trickum's Crossroads, Yellow River, Rockbridge, Lawrenceville, Jug Tavern, Rosebud. In 1941, T.A. Barker, the last surviving veteran in Gwinnett, died.

Fire
The greatest loss to us was the fire of September 10th, 1871 which destroyed much of the county's records.

The Railroad
Railroads first came through in 1871 creating both towns and commerce. Known as the Atlanta and Richmond Air Line Railway (1870-1876) then the Atlanta and Charlotte Air Line Railway (1877-1894) then the Southern Railroad (1894-1990) and currently the Norfolk Southern Railway. A second railroad came through central Gwinnett in 1891 with the Georgia, Carolina, and Northern Railway (1886- 1901). This line merged with the Seaboard Airline Railway (CSX since 1986) and operated the Loganville and Lawrenceville Railroad which ran between the two cities from 1898-1932. From 1879-1931 the Southern Railroad operated a passenger service between Atlanta and Toccoa, Georgia called the Airline Belle.

Roads

In the 1840s, a stagecoach line ran from the depot at Stone Mountain to Gainesville by way of Lawrenceville. Departing 7:00 a.m. and arriving 5:00 p.m. three days/week. Return trips the other three days.

The first road paved in Gwinnett in 1924 was one of the oldest; the Lawrenceville-Decatur road(US 29/GA 8) and by WW II there were 96 miles of paved highways in the county: Dekalb-Barrow(US 29/GA 8), Norcross-Buford(US 23/GA 13), Stone Mountain-Loganville(US 78/GA 10), Lawrenceville-Cumming(GA 20/Hwy 20), Norcross-Cumming(GA 141/Medlock Bridge rd), and Lawrenceville-Duluth(GA 120). Unpaved highways included parts of: Lawrenceville-Snellville(GA 124), Norcross-Cumming(GA 141), Hog Mountain-Barrow(GA 124), Buford-Cumming(GA 20), Lawrenceville-Loganville(GA 20), and Grayson-Snellville(GA 84). Besides these state-maintained roads, the county maintained another 1400 miles.
 
 

Ukiah' s Attractions

Attractions

Grace Hudson Museum-Sun House

 Address: 431 S Main St, Ukiah, CA 95482, United States

 Phone:+1 707-467-2836

http://www.gracehudsonmuseum.org/

Montgomery Woods State Reserve

Address: 15825 Orrsprings Road, Ukiah, CA 95482, United States
Phone:+1 707-937-5804
 
Ukiah Community Services Department
Address: 200 S School St, Ukiah, CA 95482, United States
Phone:+1 707-463-6700
 

 

Temple' s Attractions

Attractions

Temple Railroad & Heritage Museum
Address: 315 W Avenue B, Temple, TX 76501, United States
Phone:+1 254-298-5172

Completed in 1911, the historic Santa Fe Depot houses the Temple Railroad and Heritage Museum and a working Amtrak Station. The Temple, Texas museum explores the history of the railroad and topics relating to local and regional history. The museum also regularly hosts changing temporary exhibits and educational programming. The museum’s collection of railroad equipment is displayed on the grounds, including three locomotives, railroad passenger cars, and cabooses on static display. Restoration work on this rolling stock collection is ongoing. The Santa Fe Depot is located next to an active railroad yard, where railfans can observe daily operations and traffic of the BNSF and Amtrak.

Our Beginnings

The Railroad and Heritage Museum was founded in 1973 to collect, preserve and exhibit the history of the railroads and local history of Central Texas. The original collection was housed in the 1907 Moody Gulf, Colorado & Santa Fe depot. In 1996, an ISTEA grant for renovating the Temple Santa Fe depot, which had been vacated by the railroad and was destined for demolition, was applied for and received. Three years later, in 1999, work on the restoration began. Dedication of the restored depot took place on July 8, 2000. This beautifully restored depot is now the home of the museum.

Mission

The Temple Railroad and Heritage Museum inspires visitors to discover our rich railroad heritage and the technological history that shaped our community in the past and today.

Vision

The vision of the Temple Railroad and Heritage Museum is to be the educational destination for our community to explore its past and present and to serve as a national research resource for the history of the Santa Fe Railroad and the railroads of Texas.

Guiding Values

The Temple Railroad and Heritage Museum aspires to these values:

Education We put education at the core of our museum and seek to engage our audience in learning opportunities that are enriching, enjoyable, and authentic.
Excellence We offer a high quality experience to our audience and meet high museum standards.
Integrity We are open, truthful, and transparent. We make decisions that are ethical, fair, and respectful of all.
Service We are responsive to the needs of our audience and are a valued cultural resource for our community.
Stewardship We are responsible stewards for the historical resources in our care.

 

Wilson Park Recreation Center
Address: 2205 Curtis B Elliot Dr, Temple, TX 76501, United States
Phone:+1 254-298-5740
 

Sunnyvale' s Attractions

Attractions

Sunnyvale Heritage Park Museum
570 E Remington Drive
Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Phone:  (408) 749-0220
Hours:  12-4pm, Tuesday/Thursday/Sunday

http://heritageparkmuseum.org/

 

The Lace Museum

Address: 552 S Murphy Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94086, United States
Phone:+1 408-730-4695
 

The Lace Museum was founded in 1976 in the San Francisco Bay Area in California by a small group of women in order to preserve the art of lace making. By meeting regularly, the founding members were able to teach each other lace making techniques, teach other groups and individuals how to make lace, and to educate the community about the fine art of lace making through exhibits, shows and community events.

The Lace Museum was incorporated in 1981 and is a non-profit organization. It is a teaching museum administered by a Board of Directors and is staffed entirely by volunteers. The museum houses hundreds of samples of laces that have been donated over the years. Many types of lace, lace making tools and books that date back as far as the 1700's can be found in the museum.

Quarterly exhibits demonstrate the breadth of the museum's holdings. Classes and lectures are sponsored by the Lace Museum Guild whose membership is open to the public. Exhibits at local craft fairs help educate the public about lace making. Museum volunteers take lace making projects for children into area schools.

The Lace Museum exists solely through the donations of individuals, revenue from the gift shop, and revenue from the classes conducted by the Guild. The Lace Museum Guild has grown to include over 100 members worldwide. If you are interested in supporting the Lace Museum, please click on the How to Support link.

 

Sunnyvale Hindu Temple & Community Center
Address: 450 Persian Dr, Sunnyvale, CA 94089, United States
Phone:+1 408-734-4554
 
 

Napa' s Attractions

Attractions

The Hess Collection Winery & Art Museum

4411 Redwood Rd, Napa, CA,

707 255 1144

Donald Hess established his first Mount Veeder vineyard in 1978, from the beginning recognizing that on these ridges and benchlands, the potential for great winegrowing was clear. Deep, rocky, volcanic soils provide a home for vineyard blocks producing small, concentrated fruit that reflects the challenges of growing grapes at higher altitudes in the coolest mountain growing region in Napa. The Hess Collection winery is part of a historic site where wine was first produced in the 1860’s, in a native stone build hewn by masons in 1903. The original stone structure is now joined by The Hess Art Collection, a world-class showcase of contemporary art that captures “two passions under one roof.” The Hess Collection uses sustainable, environmentally-sound practices with the axiom, “Nurture the land, and return what you take.” That philosophy brings with it a dedication to delivering wines that speak to their natural origins. Wine tasting & tours daily. Culinary experiences include pairings with small plates, artisan cheese and chocolates

 

The Uptown Theatre

 1350 Third Street, Napa, CA 94559

 707.259.0123
Uptown Theater Napa is Napa downtown's destination for live entertainment.  The theater itself ia a restored art deco masterpeice and ia a historic landmark.  The  theater showcases many top notch acts,including music, comedy and more.  The Uptown Theater has played host to some of the biggest names in entertainment and is a good place to go for night life in Napa.
 

 

 

 

Monahans' s Attractions

Attractions

Monahans Sandhills State Park
Address: 2500 E Interstate 20, Monahans, TX 79756, United States
Phone:+1 432-943-2092
Million Barrel Museum
Address: 400 Museum Blvd, Monahans, TX 79756, United States
Phone:+1 432-943-8401
 

Mesa' s Attractions

Attractions

 

Usery Mountain Regional Park

 3939 N. Usery Pass Road, Mesa, AZ 85207

 480-984-0032

Fax: (602)372-8596
userypark@mail.maricopa.gov
 
 

Commemorative Air Force Museum

2017 North Greenfield Roaad, Mesa Falcon Field, Mesa, AZ 85215
480-924-1940
 
 

Mesa Arts Center

1 East Main Street, Mesa, AZ 85211
(480) 644-6500
 

 

Antioch' s Attractions

Attractions

Black Diamond Mines Regional Preserve

5175 Somersville Rd, Antioch, CA 94509

(510) 544-2750

 

 

Visalia' s Attractions

Attractions

ImagineU Interactive Children's Museum
Address: 700 E Main St, Visalia, CA 93292, United States
Phone:+1 559-733-5975
 Our mission is to inspire children through interactive educational experiences by providing multicultural, hands-on learning through the sciences, environmental conservation, and the arts. By empowering children and their families in a fun environment, we can transform lives and enhance our community.  

History

The ImagineU Interactive Children's Museum was founded in August 2002. Since then, the museum has provided a learning center of possibilities and promise, a family place where children and parents can learn about themselves, each other and the world we live in through explorations, interactions, role-play and direct experiences.

The Museum began as the concept of our founder Angela Reyna, and has grown into a fully functioning learning center because of the interest, talents, and dedication of people in our community. Through the generosity of Giant Chevrolet, the Museum has had a temporary home but it is now time to build a larger, permanent facility. The Museum is moving forward with its plans to build a world class facility in Visalia.

Mission

Our mission is to inspire children through interactive educational experiences by providing multicultural, hands-on learning through the sciences, environmental conservation, and the arts. By empowering children and their families in a fun environment, we can transform lives and enhance our community.
 

Corcoran' s Attractions

Attractions

Corcoran Community Park
Address: 900 Dairy Ave, Corcoran, CA 93212, United States
Phone:+1 559-992-2151
 

Kilgore' s Attractions

Attractions

 

Texas Shakespeare Festival

Address: 1100 Broadway Blvd, Kilgore, TX 75662, United States

Phone:+1 903-983-8119

http://www.texasshakespeare.com/

Lonestar Speedway

Address: 3131 Fm 1252 W, Kilgore, TX 75662, United States
Phone:+1 903-986-9731
East Texas Oil Museum
Address: 1100 Broadway Blvd, Kilgore, TX 75662, United States
Phone:+1 903-983-8295
 
 
 
 

Huntsville' s Attractions

Attractions

Cinestar of Huntsville
Address: 3 Financial Plaza, Huntsville, TX 77340, United States
Phone:+1 936-291-0248
Texas Prison Museum
Address: 491 State Highway 75, Huntsville, TX 77320, United States
Phone:+1 936-295-2155

The Texas Prison Museum offers an intriguing glimpse into the lives of the state's least-loved citizens. The museum features numerous exhibits detailing the history of the Texas prison system, both from the point of view of the inmates as well as the men and women who worked within the prison walls.

Huntsville's prison museum is frequented by a cross-section of the public, ranging from grade-school students on field trips, to tourists from around the world. Since moving to the new museum building in 2002 the number of visitors has risen each year.

The Texas Prison Museum, in existence since 1989, is a non-profit charitable corporation, overseen by a board of trustees. Staffing consists of one full-time employee, part-time personnel, and several dedicated volunteers. The museum depends on your support. You can help by becoming a patron.

Purpose

VALUES
Preservation * Education * Quality * Integrity * Communication

VISION
Preserving the past; Educating the present; Creating a pathway to a promising future.

MISSION
The Texas Prison Museum shall collect, preserve, and showcase the history and culture of the Texas prison system and educate the people of Texas and of the world.

GOALS

  • To collect, preserve, and maintain prison artifacts, documents, oral histories, photographs, and all prison museum collections.
  • To publicize and showcase the history and culture of Texas' prison system in order to attract visitors to the museum annually and to enhance learning.
  • To maintain fiscal accountability for the operation, maintenance, and expansion of the Texas Prison Museum, Inc.
  • To operate, maintain, and expand quality made properties.

 

Sam Houston Memorial Museum
Address: 1836 Sam Houston Ave, Huntsville, TX 77340, United States
Phone:+1 936-294-1832
 

Huntsville State Park

Address: 565 Park Road, 40 west, Huntsville, TX 77340, United States
Phone:+1 936-295-5644
Bernard G Johnson Coliseum
Address: 1964 Ave H, Huntsville, TX 77340, United States
Phone:+1 936-294-1740
The Bernard G. Johnson Coliseum is a multi-purpose facility, which falls under the direct management of the Department of Recreational Sports. It is shared by many University departments, student groups, local high schools, community organizations and national promotional companies. The facility is a cornerstone of activities for Sam Houston State University, Huntsville, and the surrounding communities.
The Coliseum was completed in 1976 and was originally called the University Coliseum. The name was later changed to the Bernard G. Johnson Coliseum, dedicated to the former President of the Board of Regents, Bernard G. Johnson of Houston. The facility was envisioned as a place to host SHSU athletic events, University events including registration and commencement exercises and a variety of special events.

The Coliseum hosts approximately 250-300 event days and over 50 different events each year. The Coliseum has 5,529 fixed seats, 565 retractable bleacher seats and the capacity of adding another 1,000 chairs on the floor. The Coliseum is a convenient facility for the people of East Texas to see quality local and national entertainers.

The main occupant of the facility from mid-August to March is Sam Houston State University athletics. While athletics pays a nominal user fee for those months, it is not the sole tenant. The Coliseum established a priority reservation system for additional dates to make the Building more accessible to the University community and the general public.

 

 

Gilroy' s Attractions

Attractions

Gilroy Gardens Family Theme Park

3050 Hecker Pass Highway, Gilroy, CA 95020 (Formerly "Bonfante Gardens")
(408) 840-7100
 
An extraordinary combination of nature preserve and theme park that comprises more than 75 acres of trees, plants, water and rocks combined with rides, picnic grounds, miniature golf and spectacular gardens
 

Brownfield' s Attractions

Attractions

De Qween' s Attractions

Attractions

De Queen Parks & Recreation
Address: 613 E Haes Ave, De Queen, AR 71832, United States
Phone:+1 870-642-4140
 
Herman Dierks Park
Address: 718 N Maple Ave , De Queen, AR 71832, 71832, United States
Phone:+1 870-642-6736
Sevier County Historial Museum
Address: 717 Walter J Leeper Dr, De Queen, AR 71832, United States
Phone:+1 870-642-6642
 

Copperas Cove' s Attractions

Attractions

Copperas Cove City Park
Address: 1200 W. Avenue B, Copperas Cove, TX 76522, United States
Phone:+1 254-542-2719
Cinergy Copperas Cove
Address: 402 Constitution Dr, Copperas Cove, TX 76522, United States
Phone:+1 254-542-3861
Cinergy majority owners are successful entrepreneurs, Jeff & Jamie Benson. The Bensons used their vast operational knowledge of traditional cinemas and movie grills when creating the Cinergy concept. Jeff Benson, CEO, has always been a visionary and leader in the theatrical exhibition industry. Cinergy locations are the first-of-its-kind in this hybrid class of dine-in theatre and family entertainment centers. The Bensons believe that hybrid dine-in cinemas/family entertainment centers will become very popular nationwide now that the success of their concept has been proven.The Bensons started in the exhibition industry by constructing two traditional cinemas branded “Driftwood Theatres” in Granbury and Marble Falls, Texas, the first of which opened in 1999. They also founded the Movie Tavern chain of dine-in theatres. The first Movie Tavern opened in Ft. Worth in 2001. In 2005, the Bensons recapitalized the company by entering into a joint venture that allowed Movie Tavern to become the largest and fastest growing operator of dine-in theatres in the United States. The Bensons sold their interest in Movie Tavern in 2008. At the time of the sale, Movie Tavern operated 98 screens in 12 complexes in 5 states. Cinergy started just one year later in 2009.

For more information or for expansion opportunities, please email info@cinergycinemas.com.

 

 

Davis' s Attractions

Attractions

EXPLORIT SCIENCE CENTER
Address: 3141 5th St, Davis, CA 95618, United States
Phone:+1 530-756-0191
 
 
John Natsoulas Gallery
Address: 521 1st St, Davis, CA 95616, United States
Phone:+1 530-756-3938
 

Pleasent hill' s Attractions

Attractions

 

ResMe.com © 2014 All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy
Site Design and Develop By : Anand Systems Inc
Go top Top